A Brand New Original Song: Only on Steemit

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Two nights ago, while everyone in my house was sleeping lots of disjointed memories were in my head, including the picture I have of meeting my wife for the first time, and nights we took walks in the rain, underneath an umbrella.

Somehow life has moved right along, and it's strange because the days seem so long sometimes, but then another year or two passes, and it's hard to understand where they went.

My grandmother expressed this to me once. She described feeling so young inside, but looking into the mirror and just being stunned at the old lady looking back at her.

In 2015 she passed away. She was 99 but it still wasn't easy. The longer she was here the more we got attached to her. The last night she was on this earth we gathered around her bed and sang old songs, children, grandchildren, and great-grandchildren.

This song is mostly about that moment.

Thanks again to @DSound, and to your support everyone.

Lyrics:
Your eyes were young and I still see them
When I close my mind, oh it’s easier at night
The streets were wet, but the lights were shining
On the ground below and you held on tight

I'm gonna rock you baby
To eternity
I'm gonna rock you baby
Until you sleep

The years were long until they went missing
We both got lost, then we were halfway home
I never noticed, but when I pulled you out
You picked me up, oh no, to be alone

I'm gonna rock you baby
To eternity
I'm gonna rock you baby
Until you sleep

Now the kids all came do you hear them singing
You’d be proud, Lily sounds just like you
I always thought I’d get there first
Guess I was wrong but I know what to do

I'm gonna rock you baby
To eternity
I'm gonna rock you baby
Until you sleep

Your eyes were young and I still see them
When I close my mind, oh it’s easier at night
The streets were wet, but the lights were shining
On the ground below and you held on tight

*Photo by skeeze on Pixabay



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

thanks for sharing the fully story, brought tears to my eyes

you have told a story of life journey, that's a very good story.

:( :( So sad to hear that she passed away :(
But She is still with you brother, you can't see her, but she is here watching you :)
Don't be sad, you know she can't see you sad :(

Thanks for the kind words @abdulmanan.

Loading...

Nice guys

That is a great song, inspirational to me.

Don't worry mate!! Everything's gonna be alright! Great song you got there

lovely melody & song & harmonies - raise the vocals in the mix ;-)

Yes the harmonies are quite subtle. I pulled them up a little on my new mix!

Muy bonito lo que has hecho

Gracias! Te deseo un buen dia!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67