An Original Song: "Oh My Friends"

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


I spent last weekend recording music in a cabin down in the hills of southern Ohio with the Miller Road Band. We worked on some music videos with @aweber and @jrue from #photofeed, who were helping with the filming and recording. One of the songs we did was "Oh My Friends", a somewhat forgotten song of mine from a new-song-of-the-month project I did last year.

It's about struggle, which seems to be an ongoing theme of mine, but I'm reminded of this just about every time I pick up a newspaper or take in the world around me.

This version uploaded here is the audio recording of this song, and it's just me singing with myself, along with some guitar strumming, hitting, and egg shaking. The video with the band will be released later this year with a few lyrical changes and a very eerie filming location. I'm looking forward to sharing it with you all down the road.

Thanks again to @DSound, to all of you for your support, and to new friends I've met recently on #openmic. I hope you enjoy this latest song.

Lyrics:

Oh my friends I need help
I've got thoughts in my head
There are pictures that can't be spoken
There are words that can't be said

All the creatures in the oceans
All the critters on dry land
Living things up in the heavens
Oh we do the best we can

Oh my friends it's just survival
In the mornings when I rise
And when no one seems to notice
It always takes me by surprise

All the creatures in the oceans
All the critters on dry land
Living things up in the heavens
Oh we do the best we can

Oh my friends it would be funny
If it weren't just so sad
Because I know I wouldn't trade
Anything for what you have

All the creatures in the oceans
All the critters on dry land
Living things up in the heavens
Oh we do the best we can

All the creatures in the oceans
All the critters on dry land
Living things up in the heavens
Oh we do the best we can

*Photo by Bergadder on Pixabay



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Great song there amigo...

Your consistency with recording good music 🎶 is quite commendable.

Stay strong 💪 @danieldyemusic

I will try @fada.emma! you too!

"Oh my friends I need help I've got thoughts in my head There are pictures that can't be spoken There are words that can't be said" Perfectly describes my life now :) It would be nice to listen to your solos at the end of your tracks :D

I'm glad I'm not the only one! Thanks.

nice track.... good work my friend....!! keep it up

Realy nice track!

nice silence betwen music!

Ha ha! I'll take that as a compliment?

lovely stuff. fan.

Very awesome song you got here, dude! I can just see the video being out in the middle of no where... ;) Can't wait to see it!

I am really overwhelmed. Simple voice can fulfill your needs. People can meet the external needs, but there is no alternative to singing to meet the needs of the soul or the mind. It is very good. Go ahead, good luck for your friend.

Wooow cool track!!! love the atmosphere too

I love this. Great lyrics and a very luring melody. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65399.87
ETH 2939.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66