Original Song: Geraldine

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Today I was walking through Wuhan, China, and came across a fellow with huge letters "GERALDINE" on the back of his shirt. Unfortunately, I didn't have a camera or phone to capture this moment, but it reminded me of a murder ballad I wrote years ago written from the perspective of a fellow who ended his lover's life prematurely. In the end this caught up to him after they found her body washed up on along the river.

I apologize for the morbidity in this song, but I have a belief that every songwriter should have at least one murder ballad, so here's mine. I hope you don't mind it. Thanks again everyone. Greetings from China, and thanks to @Dsound for this platform."

Lyrics:

Geraldine they found you today, now I know they’re coming my way
Geraldine life was a sweet, sweet dream until you ran around and ruined everything

You’ve brought us down, down, down, down, down
You’ve brought us down, down, down, down, down
Geraldine

Geraldine it was the perfect plan I told them you ran off with another man
Geraldine they kindly let me be, ‘cause they knew what you were and thought that they knew me

You’ve brought us down, down, down, down, down
You’ve brought us down, down, down, down, down
Geraldine

Geraldine now I understand I should have buried you deeper in the sand
But who could’ve known the river would flood and they’d find your body washed up on the mud

You’ve brought us down, down, down, down, down
You’ve brought us down, down, down, down, down
Geraldine

Geraldine they’ve gathered ‘round the door, Geraldine they’ve got me on the floor
My hands are tied and they’re taking me away asking me what just I’ve got to say

You’ve brought us down, down, down, down, down
You’ve brought us down, down, down, down, down
Geraldine

Geraldine you’ve brought us to this place, daylight’s gone they’ve covering my face
They tell me I’m paying all my dues and in a moment I’ll be somewhere with you

You’ve brought us down, down, down, down, down
You’ve brought us down, down, down, down, down
Geraldine


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Ahh, the classic Geraldine!! I think I like this song so much because the first time I heard it I didn't realize it was a murder ballad until that third verse.

Until then it's just another lost love song...

Fascinating subject matter, performed with your imitable quality. I will have to work on my murder song :)

Ha ha! Yes I suppose so @kryptoe! :)

Wow! Great work danieldyemusic! Your post has appeared on the hot page after 30min with 496 votes.

It's amazing what a genuine voice and some harmony does for a song.

Can i find your songs on yt? sc?

Yes, on youtube but I'm not sure what sc is!

soundcloud :D yt is enough i found u

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95