A New Original, and only on Steemit

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)



The year I was born my grandpa got shot twice through the belly in an armed robbery. One bullet went all the way through him, and the other one could be felt when he reached around and touched his back.

Thankfully he survived, but it was just one more story to add to a life which was filled with difficulty. His mother died when he was born, he managed to scrape out a living in the Great Depression, he fought in and survived World War Two, and at one point he even got run over by a car. And it didn’t get any easier. At the end of his life he had to take care of my grandma, who suffered from Alzheimer’s disease for about 15 years.

His faith was always strong though, and every time any of us would talk to him and ask him how he was doing, he’d always answer, “I can’t complain", so this song is written about him.

Thanks again to @DSound, and to you all for your follows and support!

Lyrics:

When I'd ask how you were doing you’d say I can’t complain
But I knew you walked through darkness and I knew you’d tasted pain
Your mother left the earth just as you came to be
And the love of your life sailed away across the sea

Oh Papa you’ve been gone way too long
Papa you’ve been gone way too long
When the good Lord took you
He left us this song Papa you’ve been gone way too long

You were shot down in alley and left there to die
Staring up in the heavens and never asking why
You said I may not have the answers and I could be enraged
But I’ve been freed from life’s sorrow I’ve been freed from this cage

Oh Papa you’ve been gone way too long
Papa you’ve been gone way too long
When the good Lord took you
He left us this song Papa you’ve been gone way too long

So I’m thankful to have known you and it’s a treasure just to see
How generations follow and I’m grateful just to be

Oh Papa you’ve been gone way too long
Papa you’ve been gone way too long
When the good Lord took you
He left us this song Papa you’ve been gone way too long


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Wow the message here is so deep.

he’d always answer, “I can’t complain"

It must have taken a resolute faith and encounter for him to say those words.
Now he is enjoying eternal rest, no matter how long he's been gone, @danieldyemusic, there will be a reunion some day.

I'm definitely following you for more of ur songs.

Thank you so much @drepo15! He did have great faith.

Keep going :D

Your grandpa for sure was a fighter. He would be so happy by seeing your love if he could be here. Great lyrics and beautifully sung with deep emotions and dedication. Fabulous effort indeed.

My pleasure bro

My Grandpa was shot in a restaurant 3 days after coming home from the Korean War. Hit him in the neck, he almost bled out. Thankfully he was saved by a nurse who was also in the restaurant.

What irony. I'm glad he made it!

He was also in the Vietnam war and died due to complications from exposure to agent orange. He was on heck of a man. I remember him before the cancer got him. He was 6'6" and could pick the front of a car up no problem. After all the treatments for cancer he weighed 180 pounds. He passed away happily in his bed with his wife.

I heard a lot of good music in my life. Never heard such good music before. Thanks so much for giving you such a good music.
I hope we get many more music in front.
Wait for the next music

Thank you so much!

Love the clawhammer bro... Glad to see another banjo player. I really like the song too, found it on DSound. I am new to steemit, just trying to figure all of this out.

He is with God now, take solace from that. From what I read about him, his faith got him through the good and the bad. Great tribute to an equally great man, he would be proud of you.

Thank you for these kind words.

Always. Take care

Interesante. muy bonito el mensaje!

wow awesome I have to practice until my sound so good

Do you also play the banjo?

Nice I really enjoyed this song

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00