A song about family and slowing down

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)



When my daughter was born there was a tiny period of time when our lives finally stopped. Prior to her birth it seems I just ran from job to job. I worked in construction, online, tutored, taught, played music, and even got paid to be a simulated hospital patient, just to make ends meet.

About that time, friends of mine also had a baby. When I asked the new father how it was going he said it was great because after months of running around, planning, working, and getting ready for the baby they were finally able to stop, slow down, and be where they should be, which was at home and just enjoying this new little life.

That was the moment this song was born.

It's such a magical little window of time when a baby comes into the world. Finally, after months (or years) of living at such a fast pace, you have the chance to stop and just focus on something real and simple, keeping a little one fed, rested, clean and safe, and all the while the world out there is still moving at the same fast pace.

This song is called "Eliza's Song".

Eliza the heaviness has set in, you and I will be together to the end
When I see those questions in your eyes, I want to hold you away from dark surprise
And when those black days get me down, you don’t seem to mind when I’m around
And when I see that sunshine on your face, for the moment you and I have found our place

And the world outside is moving fast, but for us it’s moving slow
And the time around is flying past but right now we wouldn’t know

They say your defined by the company you keep, maybe that’s why I’m at peace when I watch you sleep
Tomorrow’s shadows try and creep into the night, but for now all is still and all is right

And the world outside is moving fast, but for us it’s moving slow
And the time around is flying past but right now we wouldn’t know

Someday you’ll be the one who’s strong, and I’ll remark how years have come and gone
And when those dark days get me down, I’ll be waiting for the time you come around

And the world outside is moving fast, but for us it’s moving slow
And the time around is flying past but right now we wouldn’t know


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

I enjoy reading the stories behind your songs. Nice song.

Thanks. This is a good chance to share a little more. In concerts I typically don't say a whole lot about them. I hope your new semester is going well!

Great song!!!!!!! I never had kids of my own but married into 5 stepchildren all 21 years and up but grand kids all over the place. The newest has meaning something like the words in your song but only because I was there when he was born and I see and play with him almost daily. I love every one of them but this little guy grabbed me by the heart and won't let go....If you ever need a cigar box guitar for a song give me a holler.... It's what I do these days.....lol

That sounds pretty cool about the cigar box guitar. I've never seen one up close to be honest. I have a huge family as well and love the rowdiness and energy there is when we're all together.

here are a couple places you can check out my stuff..... I build custom orders and like them much better. Just message me here if you are interested.
www.stogeebluesbox.com
www.facebook.com/angelsong13/
https://www.etsy.com/shop/Angelssongcbgworld

Gosh, this is such a lovely tune, love the timbre of your vocals sits beautifully on the finger picking style. Sweet!

Well thank you!

Simply gorgeous

This has been one of my favorite songs of yours since I first heard it. Unfortunately, I experienced the onset of parenthood more as an increase in the frenetic pace of life, but it still speaks to what it's like to watch a life start and think about the world they'll discover as they age.

Thank you @jaunersatzman. (So strange to call you that here!) It certainly gets crazy at times, that's for sure.

Haha, I know-I registered with this name because I use it for most of my creative writing pursuits--essentially to protect my employer from being associated with views that are my own but not shared by the institution or its constituents. Unfortunately, it's become more cumbersome than helpful in this context.

Congratulations @danieldyemusic, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 4719 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $3878.39. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Thank you! This is very interesting.

I love the song. Thanks

Really nice chords. Love your sound. Very powerful story.

when you are a father, life definitely changes, nice song, I hope you continue to enjoy seeing your baby grow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86