Another Original Song-"Florida"

in #dsound6 years ago



Florida is quite a place. Some people love it, and others hate it, but a bunch of people end up there for a lot of different reasons. In this song it represents about the only safe place for two outlaws who are desperately trying to get there after a botched attempt of stealing from their own boss. Whether or not they make it is up to you to decide, but I certainly hope they’ll be okay.

The layers in this song get a little crazy, but it sure was fun to record, and singing it makes me want to get out of town, especially during these cold Ohio winters. I hope you all enjoy this dark little ballad.

Thanks again to @DSound, and to all of you for your comments and support.

*Photo from Pixabay

Lyrics:
Baby we've gotta up and leave this town
Find a new place and let the dust settle down
And if his Charlie and those boys ever come around
We'll send them up to Jesus
Cause we've got a gun but we might need another
I can buy one real cheap from my brother
And we can always look out for each other
From here until the end

And we've gotta get to Florida
I know of a place we can go and fit right in
Gotta get to Florida
Leave behind all the cold and snow for a southern wind

It's been a long road and a longer curse
And somebody got to that money first
And I know things are bad but they could be worse
At least we're still breathing
Cause we both know Charlie don't mess around
Remember that body in the dumpster and the other one they found
In the bottom of the river at the edge of town
It wasn't a pretty picture

And we've gotta get to Florida
I know of a place we can go and fit right in
Gotta get to Florida
Leave behind all the cold and snow for a southern wind

Now you're blaming me and I'm blaming you
And we can both blame each other 'til our faces are blue
But this ain't gonna help us to make it through
To live to see tomorrow
We can argue later about a better plan
But you are my woman and I'm still your man
And we can drive and drive right across the land
Like we always said we would

And we've gotta get to Florida
I know of a place we can go and fit right in
Gotta get to Florida
Leave behind all the cold and snow for a southern wind

Now this old town has had its place
But it's mostly gonna leave a bitter taste
There's no time to reflect, no time to waste
No time to see your mama
My buddy from the army still lives on his moat
And he always said I could have his second boat
And I'll learn I'll learn how to keep it afloat
And those locals they won't say nothin'

And we've gotta get to Florida
I know of a place we can go and fit right in
Gotta get to Florida
Leave behind all the cold and snow for a southern wind


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

I’m a fan. Particularly of all the redundancy and flourishes I’m detecting in the layered vocals ;). And also for taking the panhandle/“Florida Man” view instead of the glitz-and-beaches perspective on the Sunshine State.

Ha! There we go again! I'm glad someone noticed the different perspective. I think there's a lot more to Florida...

Nice job brother. U also see my blogs for nice songs. @hasan086

Congrats mate..
I wish i can go to florida one day

Hopefully it's under better circumstances than these two!

Hey, nice song. Make me so peacefull ! I like it !

This is great. Thank you!

You knew how to balance emotions very well in that song

I am from florida --- and I LOVE the vibe of this song!!
Thank you for sharing -- hope it soars!

staysea_ miami beach photo.png
Heres a photo I took on Fischer Island in Miami 2016

This is great to know! Beautiful picture!

Good post you fren. I share

Congratulations @danieldyemusic, this post is the fifth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 3085 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $13435.53. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Harika çok beğendim

Teşekkür ederim!

when the cool music meets the soft lyrics. Great song. And greetings from Turkey :)

Teşekkür ederim! (And greetings to you!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80