A song about success and regret

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)



Years ago my nephew (who also happens to be in my band), was studying in Spain. At the time I was living in a little cabin on our family farm, and I began to think about the idea of "making it" in music, and how amazing it must be to tour around the world and sing your songs to new people you've never met. So while he was there in Spain I began to dream about this, and that's how this song, "Letter From Spain" was born.

Meanwhile, I also have a weakness for name songs, or names in songs. Over the years I've written Geraldine, Luann, Tyler, Oh Maria, Johnny, Angeline, Eliza's Song, John Crawford's March, and Eileen, just to name a few. This song though, is written about "Ellie Jane", which happens to be a popular name in my family; it's the name of my grandmother, (see below) and also my niece who currently lives on that same family farm.

"Letter From Spain" is written from the perspective of someone writing home about his success touring and making music halfway across the world, but lamenting the fact that he left Ellie Jane behind, and now wonders if he made the right choice.

Thanks again to @DSound and to you Steemians for your ongoing support, and words of encouragement.

*Photo above is from juanjorge on Pixabay, and below is of my grandmother, taken in1936, in the bank she worked at in Urbana, Ohio

Lyrics:

Oh Mama you should see how they are falling at our feet
The lights here seem so bright and there’s more color in the streets
The crowd sings when we sing and moves to every beat
But at night I still dream of Ellie Jane
And the men who introduce us oh they say that we are stars
And we're drinking better coffee and we’re smoking big cigars
But the moments when it’s quiet we remember what we are
And I think of the words of Ellie Jane

When you’ve got people all around
And they say they love your sound
And they ask you how it feels
To be a refuge and a thrill
When you’re walking down some street in Spain
Will you tell them what you did to Ellie Jane

I’ve been trying to tell myself she latched on for the ride
And at times I believe this so I push her words aside
But the day that she left something deep inside me died
When no one knew me I was loved by Ellie Jane

When you’ve got people all around
And they say they love your sound
And they ask you how it feels
To be a refuge and a thrill
When you’re walking down some street in Spain
Will you tell them what you did to Ellie Jane?

And these cathedrals here are pretty but they make me feel so lost
I’m tired of seeing poor Jesus still hanging on that cross
Flames and incense in the air makes you question what you tossed
Oh those words of Ellie Jane
But I’ve been told to take this train just as far as it will go
So tonight we’ll bring them music oh tonight will be a show
And they’ll never see the sadness and they will never know
There was a time I only sang for Ellie Jane

When you’ve got people all around
And they say they love your sound
And they ask you how it feels
To be a refuge and a thrill
When you’re walking down some street in Spain
Will you tell them what you did to Ellie Jane



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

EJ Rooney 1936.jpg
My grandmother, Eleanor Jane, in 1936

Sort:  

Very nice song!

mmmh, amazing, every of your drops are touchy, i like this one.

Thanks for this, the most bizarre comment to date; you've really got me laughing over here. I think I've found the chorus to a new song!

really, lol bizarre you said, omg i am laughing out hard now, new chorus yea, when its done i will be hear playing it grooving.

@danieldtemusic Loving the lyrics unfortunately can't play audio due to my player on chromebook! :-(
The lyric though are fantastic really captures the beautiful spanish vibe with there wonderful cathedrals! looking forward to your next post keep up the good work! Upvoted Resteemed and followed!
Peace and Love my friend!

Thank you so much!!

@danieldyemusic any time it was much deserved for a great post! Thank you so much for upvote its greatly appreciated! Peace and Love my Friend!

Great writing, really captures the mixed feelings of regret and guilt in contrast with the excitement and euphoria of stardom and success.

There was a time I only sang for Ellie Jane

That line did it for me. I love lines that are able to say so much in such small simple packages.

@danieldyemusic
Love this song, made me reminisce on days of yore and a time gone by :-) seriously had images of my childhood dance in my head. that to me is what songs are about and it should spark some kind of soulful thought or thoughts and make you feel something.

well done... you are indeed good at your art. keep going.

i also love this song........

The contrast made is fantastic. Exposing real facts and the relation between success and failure is sadly chromatic. Tears like the shadows in the dark forest.

This is one of the first songs I really remember of yours. Naturally, I still enjoy it. I always think of my cousin though (Kevin Mayer's daughter, if you know him) named Ellie Jade. Close enough, right?

Yes, whatever works!

Such beautiful lyrics man. When I go to a show by a touring band, I often think about the trade off that goes with touring and fame. It's easy to get caught up in the fame and celebrity, but I suspect that many famous musicians are often more lonely/missing home more than they let on.

Yep. I once heard a musician lamenting the better his career is, the worse his family relationships are.

Beautifully written song! Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57369.97
ETH 2943.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63