Thank you for the Welcome Steemit! Here's a Lullaby (on a lonely night)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)



Songs come from many different places. Sometimes they come from a conversation, or a bit of history, or a story from the newspaper. Other times they come from personal difficulties, or maybe some kind of breakthrough.

Tonight I was alone and driving back to my home in Ohio from a show at our neighboring state, Indiana. It's very cold and snowy right now, and most everything was closed and empty. It reminded me of this song, "Lullaby" which came from a night about like tonight. Just north of my hometown there's a little bar, and it's usually quite busy, but sometimes, when I drive by late at night, or early in the morning, there are just one or two lonely cars parked there. This was an image that I had in my head for a while, and then I wrote this song/story, and the lyrics are below.

I am curious though, for you songwriters out there, where do your songs come from, and which comes first, the lyrics or the music? I'd love it if you'd share your songwriting process.

By the way, thank you so much everyone for your overwhelming welcome into Steemit! You were really supportive of my #introduceyourself post, despite the odd picture.

"Lullaby"

Tonight it’s cold and clear and the stars are shining bright and yet all he sees
Is an empty road because he’s been driving blind, haunted by her memory
He’d find her in a bar, sitting all alone and she doesn’t know
That he’s been dying since he said goodbye, since he let her go

And there's a lullaby, lullaby on a lonely night
And the world has gone to bed
And nobody knows that they’re giving up the fight
That they’re giving up the fight tonight

It’s cold and clear and the stars are shining bright, he should be going home
Because the sun will come and he could see its light, but he keeps driving on
And now the bar is empty except for her, and she doesn’t know
That they’ve all gone and the tender should have closed hours ago

And there's a lullaby, lullaby on a lonely night
And the world has gone to bed
And nobody knows that they’re giving up the fight
That they’re giving up the fight tonight

Just to sleep in the night, just to sleep in the night
Just to lay down their heads and sleep at night
Then everything would be alright

And there's a lullaby, lullaby on a lonely night
And the world has gone to bed
And nobody knows that they’re giving up the fight
That they’re giving up the fight tonight

Now the lights are down and she should go home, but the jukebox plays their favorite song
It’s a lullaby, brings tears to her eyes and she knows everything’s gone wrong
And it’s cold and clear and the stars are shining bright, he listens to their favorite song
And the road it turns and he never slows, and he will never see the sun

And we’ve a lullaby, lullaby on a lonely night
And the world has gone to bed
And nobody knows that they’re giving up the fight
That they’re giving up the fight tonight



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit.

Welcome

Welcome thats some good stuff there. very catchy

Hey @danieldyemusic and welcome! Spirit of peace and calmness visited my soul while listening to your song. Keep up! Followed

If you are interested into healthy lifestyle, psychology, motivation and growth as a Human Being, please follow me up. Let's grow together :) Have a great day!

Sounds good! Thanks for taking the time!

Cool song!! I love it! Give you an upvote! Welcome to steemit! :)

1514362677194.jpg
Read my latest post here: My adventurous thing in my life - Climbing

Hello! I am Kevin. I'm an online fitness coach :)
Follow me for a follow back and upvote.
Check out my posts and if you need a meal or workout plan, let me know :D

Just checked it out! Thanks for posting.

Hello fellow Steemian .. I'm a newbie here. Please support me by following my blogs and I will follow yours as well . Hope we can be good friends.. Please check my introductory post. Thank you. Lovelots
https://steemit.com/nikkabomb/@crisjay110313/hello-from-the-queen-city-of-southern-philippines-cebu

Enjoyed you song and your story. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for taking the time!

Hello fellow Steemian .. I'm a newbie here. Please support me by following my blogs and I will follow yours as well . Hope we can be good friends.. Please check my introductory post. Thank you. Lovelots
https://steemit.com/nikkabomb/@crisjay110313/hello-from-the-queen-city-of-southern-philippines-cebu

Hello there, @danieldyemusic, and welcome to Steemit!

This is a beautiful and original song, we on Mundo-Steem really enjoy it! We'll be making some contest for designers, artists, photographers and writers like you.

Mundo-Steem crew

Thank you! I am very interested @mundosteem. Keep us all posted!

Hello fellow Steemian .. I'm a newbie here. Please support me by following my blogs and I will follow yours as well . Hope we can be good friends.. Please check my introductory post. Thank you. Lovelots
https://steemit.com/nikkabomb/@crisjay110313/hello-from-the-queen-city-of-southern-philippines-cebu

So good ! I'm sure you are going to walk on a great artistic path.

As always, a pleasure to listen to your stuff.

And it's a pleasure to record with you @aweber. I'm gonna send a message to you, Drew, and the band about cabin dates...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99