Dragonfly - Steemit Music League Challenge S2:R9

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)



Hello my fellow amazing musicians!
Here's my entry for Steemit Music League Challenge S2:R9 - African Music.
This track was inspired by Paul Simon's classic album 'Graceland'
It has that happy, jangly guitar sound intertwined with those African djembe rhythms and my layered 'Ladysmith Black Mambazo' style backing vox.
@chiefmappster - I hope it fits your specifications for this week's African Music contest. Thanks for arranging these brilliant contests for us creatives here on Steemit. I now feel like I have a purpose in life! To make people happy or sad with my music!
Peace...


Dragonfly is track #3 from the EP 'Never Grow Old' This has such a summer vibe! One of those moments that propelled me out of sadness into a beautiful sense of belonging, breathing in the summer air and realising that life is actually beautiful if you fill it with people that you love and care for! everything else is just 'Gravy Baby'
Urban dictionary definition - It's all gravy : It's alright; it's all good; everything is cool.

You can read all about this wonderful contest and many others by @chiefmappster over Here


**Lyrics **

Standing by the wishing well thinking
oh the summer soon passes me by
songs in the trees from the blackbirds calling, calling
river streams and the dragonfly

Walk with me a while cos I'm talking talking talking
about the sunshine that warms your face
how you been lately I've been wondering
did your soul get knocked out of place
did you find that loving face

Find me there, I'm slowly crawling
back to bed, cos I'm tired for
a helping hand to lead me
down that lonely road again


I hope you enjoyed listening to 'Dragonfly'
Be sure to check out my other tracks on my EP


dsound.audio/@darrenclaxton


Thanks for listening to my music and for supporting my journey here.
Darren



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)



Darren Claxton is a Songwriter, Musician and Producer of his own music, from Derbyshire UK. The music he writes is often heartfelt acoustic indie folk with a sprinkling of rock and country influences, with an occasional world music flavour as heard on his track ‘Dragonfly’ . But most of all, it's his passive emotive thoughts and feelings that are delivered through that soothing vocal, and intricate guitar playing of his.

Sort:  

Holy smokes mannnnnnn yes yes and yessssss.

What an absolutley pure and beautiful song. Your vocals are absolutely inspiring and incredible. Feel like I am listening to a hit on the radio (First name that comes to mind is John Mayer).

Such impactful lyrics and can be related so by so many. I instantly felt so much better just by listening to this song. Wow wow.

And most definitely fits with those djembe rhythms and layered vox.

This is a hit in my opinion and what a time with summer coming around the corner. Only a matter of time until the worlds knows about @darrenclaxton.

And much appreciation for your kind words means a lot. And so glad the community has helped with finding purpose. A life with purpose is a meaningful and joyous life o weeeee.

Much love and respect for sharing this with the community. This one affected me greatly right when I needed it (funny how that works).

Beautifully put my friend! I feel as though this could go big! The trouble is, I need someone who works for a big radio show in the US.
I think my music would do really well there mate... Let's get it on the billboard 100..
Thanks again for your support!
Darren

I really think so as well man America would eat this up. All in due time I am sure. Amennnnn I will reach out to the network and see what hits.

You're very welcome my friend. Cheers.

Poul Simon is great singer .
This is a great entry for Steemit Music League Challenge S2.
And I hope this will be a great event and I wish you will be success.
You are a great all rounder (Songwriter, Musician, and Producer ).
Best of luck for future especially in this challenge.

hey! I liked the song very beautiful and inspiring. I like that you do what you like most and I wish you the best ...

Thanks for the compliment and for listening!
Cheers again
Darren

So vivid vocal and guitaring, working together greatly with rhythms and grooves! .... I think even repetition calling-calling, talking-talking adds on to the perception of some vast space somewhere in Africa :) Wish all the luck, Darren!

Cheers @samprock
I like your descriptive writing and review of Dragonfly mate!
Thanks for your ongoing support!
Darren

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69416.18
ETH 3671.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.22