Your plan - Original Music by Darren Claxton

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

Your Plan


Your Plan


Your Plan is my second piano based song with all instruments, lyrics and production, courtesy of myself - Darren Claxton. Copyright © 2018
The cover art was also drawn by me and I think it depicts me hiding inside the paper, where the lyrics live! a safe place for us songwriters I guess.

'Your Plan' was written right towards the end of a pretty harsh relationship. My partner was 10 years my junior (I was 30, she 20) The weird thing is that, she was attracted to me as a musician and songwriter/performer but unequivocally and absolutely, hated me performing, writing music and generally interacting with the world as a musician and creative, after we started dating. As some of you that I've spoken to recently may have gathered by now, I'm a real people person, well read, empathetic and just like to talk about music and life!


04022007095.jpg

Me back in 2005


I'm no saint, and don't profess to be, nor am I the devil, but she, she treated me like the great red horned one himself/herself! Shortly after writing this song, our relationship ended, which was a huge relief for me, as I could then find myself again after 5 years of being controlled etc.
And so the story continues.


04022007093.jpg

Recording on my old Zoom MRS 1266 Porta-Studio 2007


I moved out of the home we shared and moved 120 miles north to live at my sisters house, where she really took care of me and nursed me back to being DARREN again.

--

Me and 'Our Kid' as we like to call eachother!


So that's the back story for 'Your Plan' Because I hadn't got back to this track and many other songs until recently. When I was looking through reams of lyrics and music ideas, I had created some years ago, I stumbled upon a load of really good song material to which 'Your Plan' was one of. What's special for me is that, It's only the second song that I've written for piano. I taught myself how to play drums, guitars, banjo, bass and percussion, but never really bothered with the piano too much, only the odd synth sound here and there, so I really should write more songs on piano as I think I've got the hang of playing it now.


Tinkling on the old Yamaha SY85 - made in 1992'


During this time in my life, I wrote some very deep lyrics but never really got round to record them, until now. Over the next few weeks I'll be posting some of these songs as and when I get a chance to get them down...offspring permitting of course!


Lyrics


Close now, If only
You shared, the life
Look down, disown me
Wait then, go now

Take back, the harsh words
Rethink, your plans
Headstrong, but restless
Fake smile, a clown

Into the fires,
That burned my lies
Fake dreams and conscience
All, justified

You were a bad little habit
Right from, the very start
Lunged forward and stained my heart
Did you think to stop, and change

Into the fires, that burned my lies
Fake dreams and conscience
All, justified
Maybe your eyes, they show pain.
Maybe your eyes, they show pain.


I hope you enjoyed this track! Thanks for listening, voting and commenting! Your support means so much to me!

Kindest
DC



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Thank you for dropping by for a listen!
Not seen you here for a while?
DC

I've been around. Always listen to any of your songs I come across, even though I don't always comment

That's very kind of you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78