"NIGHTWOGGLE" - Original Live Modular Synth Industrial Trip Hop (RIYD: Year Zero NIN)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Upon wrapping my session last night with Naum, a post hardcore band from Alabama, I decided after a few days of disciplined tracking it was finally time to crack the pandora's box of modular synth world and show the dudes what is possible in a few hours of jamming and producing on the big box (this can absolute derail a session if cracked too early. Believe me.) We actually started from the place where my last live video track ("Bull Run') left off, unpatching the sequencing from my multiple ableton sends and instead distributing it across my array of hardware sequencers. This is not the first time I've pulled this trick, basically keeping a huge assembly of sounds and modulations but scrambling the inputs, but I think this was one of the more successful attempts. One thing that is particularly cool with this approach: there is nothing whatsoever that insists on patching the gate and melody of a voice to the same sequencer source. As such, I've got the Malekko voltage block sequencing a bunch of the gliding portamento melodies, but an entirely different and unrelated Tip Top trigger riot stream driving the rhythm gate pattern of the sound. It's basically several sequencers collaborating, which makes improvising interdependent moments super fun and rewarding.

IMG_2748.JPG

As the night got super late, I started recording snippets before realizing a full, if somewhat structurally minimal, performance was possible. By three or four am I had this laid down. We had absolutely no preconceived ideas of what this track would sound like, but over time it took on a Year Zero era Nine Inch Nails meets 90s trip hop that got the collective heads in the room a-knodding. Cover photo by my photographically radical girlfriend, @travelinlight. Show her some love and please enjoy this track!



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

DQmW6vbmqJ8Y4VZxKsLw4hh1vBNdtWd7hCPWzC4kzKdGMpc.jpeg

Sort:  

haha omg wtf is this :D what i've just listened :D it makes me wannna destroy my neighbour's car with baseball bat!

I can neither confirm nor deny this is infact excellent car demolition music.

This is perfect demolition music :D

Without a doubt my favorite style of music!

So in all seriousness had I not slathered Industrial Trip Hop all over the title of this, what would you have called it, genre wise? I never know what to label stuff that sounds like this.

It is tough to put a specific label on it. Kind of like a Cyber Punk Fusion (sub-genre of Industrial) or maybe slightly Bent Circuit.

It reminds me of Lance Grabmiller a lot. He is a genius! Heard him open for Chris Connelly in Buffalo.

This John bergin / lance grabmiller collab is the first thing I found and is straight fire.

Sorta like a much simpler, polyrhythmic Venetian Snares.

His work is a little obscure to find. Right on!

man... literally every time i come to your channel i love it! why am i not HEAR more. I really need to reevaluate some of my life choices.

You and me both sir.

ahah synth lord shit

Dude SO glitchy, love it lol. Charming in a very special little way.

Thank you my dude! Totally what the inside of my brain sounded like after two fourteen hour days engineering in a row.

Haha geez dude I can imagine!

Congratulation drumoperator! Your post has appeared on the hot page after 30min with 38 votes.
Thanks to @souldelas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60