DSound Exclusive Debut: 'Large Dodecahedron Collider' -- DRUMOPERATOR

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)



"LDC" is my DSound-exclusive modular synth EDM debut! Seemed appropriate as I started this track on the modular at home and have been pecking away at it in the van for a two week tour, cutting up the good parts and supplementing them with bits and pieces from Serum and the Arturia SEM (both of which I love for mocking up demos of sounds I'll later improve upon in modular world.) In this case, I'm pretty happy with where the balance of modular and softsyths ended up and it's high time to get something into DSound world! Pumped.

► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Great to see you on DSound dude! Nothing but good things to say so far so I hope it treats you well! Amazing track, ton of attention to detail, as driving as it is. I'd game like hell to this.

Yeah man. Very happy with it. Already see a kick as community happening around it!

Insane energy and the glitchy stuff has a nice balance with the more melodic parts like there is a good amount of diverging parts to latch your ear on, some more organic, others colder an synthetic, varying moods fighting for attention. Just for the sound design alone it's a repeat listen, but it is a great track beyond that, very musical and emotional. Love the way you play with energy throughout wrapping it up at the end with a nice ecstatic climax! Amazing track, @drumoperator, good shit!

Thanks man! I think my critical weakness is too much density so I’m glad you appreciated the diversity of sounds. If modular is good for anything it’s keeping the timbre fresh!

Love it man, the ominous intro and the epic synth creep, and boom the drums kick in and holy shit, I just broke a ton of furniture, but it's ok, totally worth it.

Furniture will come and go.

damn that's a great, weird track! Reminds me somehow of prodigy, later on it also feels a bit like 80s computer games soundtrack on steroids

I was totally mixing it and asking if it was too much / just right / not enough Prodigy.

I'd go for "just right" :)

Just re-listened and yeahhhh. I unabashedly, and without a drop of irony, pretty much love the prodigy.

Sounds great man, i remember time ago i used to play with Fl Studio, ableton etc...

But for some reason i just quit it. I know that feel when u produce music, and is just an amazing feel.

Good luck with your debut, im sure this is just the start of something really big.

Hugs for you man, see ya! :)

Thanks for the kind words my friend. Enjoyed your post as well... you should grab reaper (free daw) and some software synths (helm is free and @buckydurdle does tutorials on here all the time for it) ... dip your toe back into music world. No better time or place than here and now.

I definitely hear a Prodigy vibe here. Love how it sounds. Great work. Have you laid any vocals over the top of your work, or are you keeping it instrumental?

I do not think my vocals would improve this. I considered vocoder vocals on this one for a sec, but the arrangement is so busy I didn't see much space. Thanks for listening and for the kind words!

Love it! My favorite part is around 2:45 and it comes back in around 4:30. I just want to hear more of it - it seems like it could give you a lot of possibilities. Great work!

Thanks! I totally added the more rich chords last and had the same feeling like I should push the whole thing in this more melodic direction. Left to my own devices I will ceaselessly tweak (many of my projects are reflective of this) and I’ve been trying to have a more impulsive workflow with this blogging angle and wanted to just get something going on DSound to get moving!

Loved your choral piece. Like I said before, doing that level of realistic arangement in east west is NO joke, ridiculous singing chops notwithstanding.

Personally, I usually get sick of my songs so I stop tweaking them and pretend I never wrote them LOL

Said every person who has ever written music in the history of the human race.

This post has received a 0.64 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @drumoperator.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69824.27
ETH 3761.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81