Move by Ed Privat

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)



This song has been following me for a bunch of years now , it's almost like a friend, sometimes I love it , sometimes I hate it, It never leaves me indifferent.

It all started in 2006, I was living in Paris at that time, and Gnarls Barkley released their album St.Elsewhere.The mix between soul and hip hop blew my mind, and I was convinced I could write a song of the same caliber.

And while i was walking along the french river the Seine, I was staring at the water moving while on a bridge, almost dozing off, and this bass line came to me, and followed me home.

I didn't even have to record it to remember it the next day. it was still imprinted in my mind which is very rare because I am the forgetful kind.

The lyrics came to me the very same day, and a younger version of myself with a very limited version of English for lack of travelling and experience, came up with this line:

Move across the Line, to see what is different behind

Don't try to look into it for too long, because it doesn't mean anything.If my younger self was more educated, he should have said:

Cross the line ,to the see past/beyond our differences

But my younger self was a very stubborn guy, and I played this song in every Jam session that you can imagine in Paris, with so many different musicians. so many version of the same song, at so many gigs, but no one ever corrected my syntax error because most french musicians don't speak English so well.( and don't care about the singing part)

Later on down the line (2009-2011) , I was recording my first Album in Johannesburg, and I decided to keep all those errors, because....WHY NOT

Not because I am lazy, but because these lyrics are a snapshot of a this Parisian kid with a dream in mind , writing a song as good as Gnalrs Barkley .

I am very happy to share it with you , the orchestration is madness, we used so many different musicians that I couldn't even tell you who is playing which part.It's not very hip hop, more classis soul, all I know is that the Organ solo in the middle is gnarley, and the song will make you pump and jump, the perfect vibe for a Monday!

The influences are Sly and the Family Stone, any gospel/soul from the seventies, and the song "Papa Was A Rolling Stone".

I hope you enjoy :)

#move #Soul #Funk #edprivat #seventies #Bass



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Don't forget to ask me for as song request, i always accept a challenge and get rewarded 1SBD if you're chosen. It need to be a song that has a meaning to you , and that is a bit popular to make it easier for me :)

Credit: Photo by Brett Rubin
http://brettrubin.com/

Sort:  

really i enjoy it.

That's great to hear @jewelrana876 thanks :)

Wow your story is very interested and your music is very best keep it up you will be go to moon

Thank you thank you thank you so much :) i know it's a lot of thank you but it's free, here another one thank you!

Best of luck our support with you always

that's wonderful thank you!

Very impressive @edprivat! Excellent instrumentation. You've got a great soulful voice man!

Thanks bro! It took a while to mix (100 tracks), I didn't do it alone to be honest :). Let' work on a track bro you know I love your stuff!

Yeah man! Until myDaw gets built, lets collab on Splice ;-)

DM on Discord!

Yeah which reminds me I need to finish my business plan! You know what? let's give it a try ? Do you have share holds in splice too? haha

No share monetary holds, but I do store some of my best tunes there. So I guess you can call it "intellectual" shares. ;-)

I think that's the most valuable one ! It would be easier to chat on discord anyway, there's like a vocal chat option right ? I mean it's for gamers so surely...

Love the up-tempo feel and the energy that brings to the song. I've been playing some form of Hammond organ and bass off and on since the 80's. I love it when I hear a song that can be pulled off with mostly the organ, bass, drums and vocals. One does not always need a guitar to be the prominent instrument for a song to sound full :)

My 2 favorite electric piano are the Hammond organ and Fender Rhodes. It's the sound I love to have, for stage performance too, with a clean stratocaster guitar sound on the side.
I agree with what you say guitar, sometimes I love working on bass + vocal minimalist songs too! Harder to pull off though. Thanks for the nice comment :)

My dad stored some of my old equipment when I went off to college years ago, then started running into guys at work who'd sell off equipment when they'd start a band and then lose interest. He's got a B3, Clavinet, Fender Rhodes and Yamaha CP80 amongest other things. Now I just a need a studio and to talk him into moving them into it so I can more easily record some tunes with the awesome lineup :)

Can I move in with you once you find a studio hahaha ? On a serious note start playing around, you never know what can come out of it ! The CP electric grand was such a popular sound 20 -30 years ago, I wonder how it would sound in today's pop music?

I've got a fair amount of my own music I've done over the last few years, primarily with synths. I'm reviewing some of mixes before I post them up. I hope you'll take a listen once I do. I'm brand new to Steemit here, so am just starting to post things. I kinda lust after that CP80...one of my favorite sounds. My dad's getting into his mid-70's and isn't playing around on the equipment he has as much now. He says playing that piano is too rough on his hands anymore. We're remodeling our basement over the next couple of months and he's sounding like he's going to let me "take care of it" at my place! I will for sure be writing some new tunes with it once that happens :)

That sounds so exciting , that's the type of thing I wanna do with my son and daughter once they grow old! Please share with us the whole process I am sure a lot of people like me would very interested!

Hey Ed, I finally got my first Steemit/Dsound posts up. Take a listen when you get a chance!

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@ggood/music-and-life

https://dsound.audio/#/@ggood/the-discovery

I went to drop a like and a comment. I've got my favorite part of your song already.Well done!

i really like your post and i enjoy it very with all post 👍

Thank you very much, I will do my best to keep you happy :D

wow its good song and strong lyrics have you compose it by yourself?

Yes I did :) It has evolved throughout the years. Earlier versions had a different drums.It changed to that hard gospel style while in studio.

Amazing..It's very beautiful music and i like it. Hope everyone will be like this song and your post.thank you.. go ahead.

That's so nice of you and encourage me to create more music , thank you so much!

Congratulations @edprivat, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 13755 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $4123.79. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Heeey bot friend!! can you make it rhyme next time? maybe a collab?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59043.03
ETH 2983.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72