[Lo-fi throwback] The beat that started my journey: 'Hara-kiri' (And a quick update).

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Good evening guys! I'm just passing by tonight to bring you a quick update and to share something that I thought was lost forever; my very first 'lo-fi hiphop' beat. (Really, the first one).


On february I started, motivated by some friends, to make beats. The first hours on FL Studio were hard to me since I knew very little about music production and was just eating the information from Youtube tutorials and tips that my friends gave me, but, FL Studio is a very intuitive DAW and you, unaware of it, learn things on the run. That's how 'Hara-kiri' was born.

I didn't know how to sample, how to make proper hip-hop drum patterns, how to do bass lines, how to mix properly, how to eq, anything; I even didn't know the most important thing I needed to know; how to achieve that crispy and relaxing lo-fi vibe that I was after. So I started laying some simple drum patterns I learned about from Youtube videos and, while the beat was taking form, at the same time I watched a huge amount of tutorials about production and putting the things a saw on this very first project. Since I didn't know how to sample yet, I made ALL the instruments myself (By hear, since my musical knowledge was average), and I don't even know why the track ended up taking that asian inspired vibe. There are dizi flutes all over the track, shamisens and other chinese string instrument I forgot about; the bass line, a sample bass line, was took from one of the Kontakt stock library instruments.

I spent 2 weeks working on this beat, 2 WEEKS! And now I can finish a beat in a couple of hours. I think I'm come a pretty long way from that guy that didn't know why the drums still sounded louder than everything else to the guy that hears a sample somewhere and quickly chops it up and makes a beat out of nowhere within hours. And I still have too many things to learns, to many things to polish, I still need to get good at so many things, I still have a long journey to go.

Thanks a lot guys, for being part now of my journey, to listen to my music, to open up your ears to the amazing world of lo-fi hiphop and I'm thankful and honored to be one of your guides. I hope you still follow me through all the chapters to come, without the people that takes the time to give me valuable feedback and listen to the crap I make, I'd be nothing. Thanks!

Quickly update: Some of the early tracks I uploaded since I started posting on steemit regularly are now on Choon, I'll paste the links down below:

Retrospectiva choon.co/tracks/45dletgz0w/retrospectiva

Nostalgia choon.co/tracks/0guc8o6nzz7/nostalgia

I haven't forgot about you & and I wish I could choon.co/tracks/2pwhj6oxta/i-havent-forgot-about-you--i-wish-i-could

Cover image taken from Pixabay.


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Cool, nice to have your first beat, especially as you thought you lost it..

You were already off to a great start! The best is yet to come!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by elbrujo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61142.49
ETH 2928.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67