Emelanson - [Selective Amnesia] (Guitar Psych // Electronic // Jan 2018)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

New track.

In the downtime before the release of the first The Walding Family album with @heymattsokol, I've focused a lot on preparing for our live set by experimenting with songs that bridge acoustic and electronic elements. Selective Amnesia is a groove I've had partially recorded for the last year, and finished up this past week. I decided to revisit the track when I downloaded Melda Production's Mdrummer small, a great freeware VST that provides some very cool drum samples, and needed a few places to practice using it. To my surprise, the original guitars (present throughout the track) and bassline (0:27) held up well when I replaced the acoustic drum samples of the demo with Mdrummer.

The hardest part of getting a convincing track together out of acoustic and electronic elements seems to be the performance, namely that it's both precise and exciting. The bass guitar part is a great example of where I (think I) nailed the performance and bridged the gap between the drum track and upper guitar parts. Notice the difference in feel between the bass-less breakdown at 1:35 and when it re-enters at 1:50. To me, the live performed acoustic parts convey a sense of energy and urgency that I've yet to discover how to make with electronic music.

All of the guitars came about by experimenting with new sounds from the Line 6 Helix native plugin that I've had thanks to a free trial. It's a VST version of their new amp modeler floor unit, and competitor to the legendary Axe FX-II ultra. There are so many guitar amps, effects, and processing options available in the helix that it would rival any world class studio's collection. It's very easy to work with, and I'll definitely be purchasing it despite it's high price tag of $300 usd.

Thanks for listening
Elijah
My soundcloud
The Walding Family


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Wow, what a gorgeous intro, that's an amazing sound, Line 6 knows their stuff. Love the laid back feel of first half and then the cool switchup to a bolder energy, amazing deconstruction and the wrapup with the familiar theme. Beautiful tune, @emelanson!

Thank you for the kind words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69995.16
ETH 3735.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74