Life, Experienced - Episode 15 - Build

in #dsound5 years ago (edited)


Life, Experienced is a podcast that showcases the unique life experiences of its guests. Hosted and produced by Ethan D. Smith, each episode features an interview with a person who has a unique or interesting story to tell.
A business owner recounts how failures in farming and being fired from a retail job led him to found a real estate and construction company.

This podcast is available for download wherever you get your podcasts. Visit https://lifeexperienced.org to listen and subscribe with your preferred podcast service.

Alternatively, you can download the mp3 version here: https://ethandsmith.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/11/Life-Experienced-Episode-15.mp3

If you'd like to support this podcast, consider becoming my patron on Patreon: https://patreon.com/ethandsmith. Tiers start at just $1/month!

If you have a story to tell or know someone who might be a good guest for the show, comment below or find me on Twitter. https://twitter.com/ethandsmith.

All music used in this podcast is composed by Lee Rosevere and used under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0

Visit FreeMusicArchive.org for more information.



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

A really interesting interview, and a stark reminder of how drastic and sudden the effects of the 2008 recession were.
A wonderful local food business near where I live shut its doors for the last time a couple of weeks ago. It was founded in the 1980s and was a pioneer in quality food. In 2008 I visited some new stores it had opened in another town. It expanded in the boom that occurred just before the crash happened at the end of that year. It had to sell off most of its stores a few years later, and the few stores it had left never really recovered, sadly.

Thanks so much for listening.

This is actually my father-in-law. My wife was in middle school/high school from 2008-2013, so she lived through the tough times when the business was slow. That's part of the reason I decided to interview him for this episode.

It's great to see his business doing well again, but I can't imagine how hard it was for other people, too. If it was tough on business owners, I know it was hard on workers, too.

That's really sad about the local business. As I've done these interviews and talked to various business owners (Episodes 4, 5, 8, 9, and 14), I've found a new appreciation for supporting local businesses. I think everyone could benefit from checking out what's around them!

Thanks so much again for listening and commenting. I really appreciate it.

I really enjoyed the podcast. And I really think small businesses don't get enough support from government - that's certainly the case in the UK anyway. I'm glad your father-in- law's business came through!

I love topics that focus on how tough times lead to better ones. Thanks for publishing these here.

Hey Katrina, thanks for stopping by.

It's great to see the business doing better now for Aldean (he's my father-in-law, so this one is close to home). I'm hoping I don't have to endure more times like that during my life, but you never really know.

I appreciate your comment!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 325 (11/29/18)

Congratulations @ethandsmith! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 2000

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ethandsmith! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 51000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ethandsmith! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 51000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 52000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Dear @ethandsmith

Just decided to see how have you been doing, since I didn't hear from you in a while. I noticed that you didnt post anything in a while.

Did you give up on Steemit? :(

Yours,
Piotr

Hey there, @crypto.piotr, I've not gone away completely!

My podcast is in a season break, so those new episodes have not been shared here. They return on February 6th, so you can look forward to them!

The main reason for not posting is that I've been working on my graduate research. The great news is that my work was recently published in the journal Nanomaterials, which I'm really excited about.

Thanks for checking in! I hope you are doing well!

Dear @ethandsmith

Thank you for your kind comment and I'm sorry for replying so late.

My podcast is in a season break, so those new episodes have not been shared here. They return on February 6th, so you can look forward to them!

Do you plan to send memos to people interested with your content?

Congratulation buddy. This is amazing. I'm not native english speaker so it's kind of hard to understand much :)

Do you mind sharing with me where're you from? Just curious.

Yours
Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63892.45
ETH 3117.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87