Exalted 1ne - Follow Me

in #dsound6 years ago


"Downward Spiral" is the third track off my album, Mindsketch, which was released in 2007. This is more of an experiment with rock/rap type of track instead of taditional rap.

"Follow Me" is the third track off my album, Mindsketch, which was released in 2007.

I'm posting an entire back catalog of my music as a sort of countdown to my new album called Party of My Life. I'm doing this in hopes to show you of where I started and how I improved along the way in my lyricism, maturity, and overall recording process. With more advanced/cheaper techniques to record as technology evolved, you'll be able to hear a great deal of improvement through the years. Enough to show you that as long as you put time into your work, you can pull off some pretty incredible things.

Back when I made this album, I had a $12 plastic microphone from my local home-office supply store and the program I used to record was a freeware program called Goldwave. It wasn't until mid-way through the album that a friend of mine gave me an early version of Sonic Foundry's Sound Forge. I didn't even know anything about compression or EQ'ing or even really how loud things should sound in a mix. Any sound effects that you hear in the album were done by hand. Delays were added by chopping the vocal, cutting and pasting, then lowering the volume in each copy to create the delay effect.

Back then, my computer couldn't handle playing the music and recording at the same time. So I'd burn the instrumental to a CD, pop it in my cd player with headphones on and record into the mic. It was only afterwards that I'd go back and try to align the vocals to the instrumental and try and get everything on track. The dubs/voice overs were added after the fact and sometimes without listening to the song because it would've meant I had to re-burn the song to cd and replay it through my cd player and I couldn't afford to waste those resources.

Links to traditional markets/social media:

Twitter: t.xlt1.com
Spotify: spotify.xlt1.com
iTunes: itunes.xlt1.com
Google Play: play.xlt1.com
Soundcloud: sc.xlt1.com
Youtube: yt.xlt1.com



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Dope lyrics

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59