The First Song I Recorded "King of The Mountain"

in #dsound6 years ago



I had quite a few songs written on paper before this. I was 13. I had just got a $12 plastic microphone from some office store. I used a shareware recording program called Goldwave. I made things happen haha. I'm actually surprised this song held up as well as it did. I ended up including it on an album quite a while after called "Personality Split" as a sort of throwback. "King of The Mountain" is a lyrical approach to kids game where there would be a giant hill and the object was to push each other off. The person who survived the longest would be declared the winner.

Lyrics:
Where there's no subtle challenge
And there's no amounting
Your gonna find yourself
Climbing this mountain
Trying to get to the fountain
Where winners will be winners
And losers stay beginners
In this game of drifters

We playin King of The Mountain
Where nobody reaches the fountain
Everyones just crowded around it
To crack and tackle the winners
But no one listens to the ones that are injured
(x2)

I would know, I'm on the bottom where nobody flows
Nobody goes to give you a chance
Just to take a stance on your head
And just to give you a lesson
Shit on you like a bird when its threatened
There's no perfect endin
In this industry work is endless
No matter the circumstances
Someones heard you chantin
No matter how big the temper tantrum
You just throw your hands up
And hope you standin
The way you planned it

We playin King of The Mountain
Where nobody reaches the fountain
Everyones just crowded around it
To crack and tackle the winners
But no one listens to the ones that are injured
(x2)

Climbing this mountain, you gotta understand
Respect comes with the power to grow
Allowin you hope
For the next emcee to reach their arm out in need
And help you see the next degree when your battling
Each rock you stop
It's another level
You can never settle for comfort
The mother fuckers always lurk to hurt you
Take your place and burn you out of this world of doubt
Each word of your mouth just orbits the crown, but we...

We playin King of The Mountain
Where nobody reaches the fountain
Everyones just crowded around it
To crack and tackle the winners
But no one listens to the ones that are injured
(x2)

My final sentence will be presented
When I reach the ending
And depending on my bruises and scars
I'll stand up in charge
Yell from afar that I know the meaning to the secret of hope
And that is to never let go
Always listen to the losers cuz no matter who it is
Beggers cant be choose
And users know what it feels like to be
Demoted and loathed
Devoting their hope
To the rap game alone

We playin King of The Mountain
Where nobody reaches the fountain
Everyones just crowded around it
To crack and tackle the winners
But no one listens to the ones that are injured
(x2)



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61374.19
ETH 2885.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55