Instrumentals: I've Never Been to Kingston

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


But I've Been Close!


pyramidborderfalse.png

It's on the bucket list to visit Jamaica and the Caribbean Islands, but until then, the title of the song is the truth! I have at least seen and swam in the Caribbean Sea though, last summer when I visited Quintana Roo, Mexico. By far the most beautiful, crystal-clear water I have ever seen! It was absolute paradise (I especially fell in love with a town called Bacalar) and I am seriously considering a move down around there in the future. Between the potential Steemit and the various platforms on this blockchain offer, and my experience teaching, I can just about live wherever I want I'm realizing. Yay to freedom!!


But I digress.....


The song title was sort of a pun, in that not only have I never been to Jamaica, I've also never made reggae music before this one. I've always had a love for it, but outside upstroking some bar cords on the guitar (which I do quite nicely lol), I didn't know a lot on how to make it. This is where my session (if you will) band members come in!

I created the guitar riff first and then the percussion. From there, I worked with my music partner (at the time) Justin Macasero and he came up with a bassline and the eerie bendy synth you hear. There was still something missing in the keys department, and so my homie James Youngblood (plays in local reggae bands already) laid down the rhythm organ keys, as well as the lead horns. She started sounding like an actual reggae tune!

This song originally appears on my debut album, and is sung by Andy Renz. I kept one part of her vocals in this instrumental rendition; the transitional "ooooooooooohhhhh" she sings because that part really gets me!! Technically her voice is an instrument there so..... It brings about the latter half of the song quite well. The song takes a turn as if you left the reggae cafe and went straight to the night club! I change the song completely, while still sampling some of the synth from Mr. Youngblood. Add a phat amount of bass to fill 'er out, and you have a reggae song Falseyedols stylee, mon.

pyramidborderfalse.png
I hope you be ridin de waves wit muh, mon. Thank you for stopping by, and have a great Friday! I'm on my way out of civilization for a day on a camping excursion. Eventually I will make a righteous blog post about the last two camping trips I've gone on, but until then! Peace and love steemfam.
pyramidborderfalse.png


Did you know?!?!?!?!


VFMsingle.png

mspwaves.jpg


I co host a radio show on @msp-waves called Voices from the Mountains #vfmradio. Every Saturday, 3-5am UTC you can hear my beautiful voice along with my host mates @intuitivejakob and @lpfaust. We get pretty silly, and you're sure to be entertained between the satire/comedy, music and energy readings. We are working on building a team up and we have some other big plans in store for the future! So excited to actualize our vision.

pyramidborderfalse.png

About the Author: Falseyedols is a musician, producer, audiovisual artist, blogger, radio host and curator (thanks to Steemit). Through a diverse range of skills and modes of art, Falseyedols aims to unite everyone through a common appreciation of the arts. If humanity can find a common ground, it is easier to see our similarities and thus get along. We are all people, after all! Decentralization and the blockchain may be exactly what the world needs to achieve unity!

pyramidborderfalse.png


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00