High Flight (spoken poetry)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

This is my favorite poem ever. As a kid I would stay up to watch the local television stations sign off with it. It took me to the skies, where I could soar in the heavens. So, as a special treat, this is the only pre-release track from the new album that I will release. It's my first and only Spoken Word. I hope you enjoy listening to it, as much as I did making it.

Sit back and take off into the clouds. Let go and dream.

-jh


DQmYvtmzrY5CPgc5tvuEJZhuJ974KY51jybAsxj5XHgpjQp.png

High Flight

Oh! I have slipped the surly bonds of earth,
And danced the skies on laughter-silvered wings;
Sunward I've climbed, and joined the tumbling mirth
Of sun-split clouds, and done a hundred things.
You have not dreamed of, wheeled and soared and swung.
High in the sunlit silence. Hov'ring there
I've chased the shouting wind along, and flung
My eager craft through footless halls of air...
Up, up the long, delirious, burning blue
I've topped the wind-swept heights with easy grace
Where never lark or even eagle flew.
And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
The high untrespassed sanctity of space,
Put out my hand, and touched the face of God.

DQmYvtmzrY5CPgc5tvuEJZhuJ974KY51jybAsxj5XHgpjQp.png

Photo ©2018 Jeff Hightower (in the sky over South Carolina)
Written by: John Gillespie Magee, Jr
Vocals: Jeff Hightower
Keyboards and Arrangement: Serena Matthews & Jeff Hightower


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

What a beautiful poem. Can't get dsound to load right now but I'll come back and listen later on today.

Thank you. It’s my favorite. We were just screwing around in the studio and it came together. I added a soundcloud link now, maybe that will work?

Probably!! I'll give it a go now!

... yep, could hear it! Sounded cool. Must have been cool to record. I like the end bit where there's a little pause ... touched the hand of God.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62845.90
ETH 3173.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82