Down In The Swamps

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Down In The Swamps

I've been up, and I've been down.
I've seen everything in between.
But somewhere down near the delta line,
I saw something I ain't never seen.

It was late one night at the Gator Bar.
She came in wearing skin tight jeans.
Turned every head with her voodoo style.
And then aimed it right at me.

I said, Woah... I might be in too deep.
Oh no... that woman got a hold on me.

She walked me to the floor,
And started swaying to some Iko Unday.
The room got dark and all went black,
As she began to shimmer and shake.

When morning came and my head was low,
I woke up out in the swamps.
That danged ole witch done stole my soul,
And every bit of money I own

I said, Woah... I think I got in too deep.
Oh no... that woman got a hold on me.

I spent 20 plus years searchin' for her,
The girl with the creole spell.
She disappeared from the bayou that night
Took my money and my heart as well.

And now I know... I was in too deep.
Oh no... that woman got a hold on me.

© Jeff Hightower
Photo ©paintingangels (my lovely wife)



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62789.36
ETH 3158.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82