Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 175 Part 1 (Podcast Version)

in #dsound6 years ago


This is a podcast version of a video from Day 175 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' six hundred and sixty-five days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods.

'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

The original video can be found here:

Jacob Goes Off Grid 175 Part 1a.png

In this video I talk about doing some weed-eating along the driveway and around where I had all my building supplies stored.

I show a few black locust that are growing from root cuttings and show how well the larger one that I transplanted is growing in the five gallon bucket.

I talk about it raining earlier in the day and how right after it stopped raining I burned off all my burnables in the 'fire cave'.

I talk about how none of the black locust seeds that I planted are growing and how it has been nearly a month since I planted them.

I talk about seeing the big black snake repeatedly in the same area and show where it is sleeping in the sun.

I talk about how it is nice to go to an area and see the same wildlife repeatedly.

I talk about seeing the same deer over and over again and how one morning it jumped across the driveway right in front of me.

I talk about people repeatedly coming to the gate at night in a vehicle and how it has been keeping me up late because the dogs keep barking at them,

I talk about not letting the dogs out too early in the day so that they do not scare the deer off.

I get off on a tangent about being sort of fed up about the way things are going and how I am feeling discouraged and the challenges of overcoming that and staying motivated.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

Tip: If you have trouble listening to the audio you can always download it directly.



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem hydroflux! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78