Gone Too Soon: A Tribute to My Father

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)



On October 30th 2017 my father passed away suddenly and unexpectedly at the age of 66 from a heart attack. I never imagined I would be losing a parent at 33 or that my mother would be widowed at 57. As I write this I am still in shock and disbelief. I've always had an aptitude for processing pain and emotions, but I haven't the faintest idea on how to even begin to process a loss of this magnitude.

I don't know if I'm progressing through the stages of grief in a normal way or not but wherever I'm at in the process, what I've been thinking a lot bout the things I DIDN'T express to my father when he was alive. It's easy to dwell on things that were left unsaid after the loss of a loved one and the pain of this regret can be intense. The best word I have been able to come up with to describe this is HEAVY.

It all feels like a giant emotional burden that only I can carry. As much as people want to help and comfort the grieving, at the end of the day grief, is not something that can be shared. It affects us all in different ways and each of us have to figure out how to bear it in a way that allows us to to keep living and progressing for the rest of the time we have left on Earth.

Creative writing has always helped me process pain and loss. I express and understand my emotions more clearly and pointedly through song and poetry. Recently, I was inspired to write a poem as a tribute to my Father and I would like to share it exclusively on Steemit and Dsound.

I hope it touches and inspires you and if you too have experienced this type of loss my heart goes out to you. Keep processing, keep expressing, and keep surviving any way you know how. There is no "right way" to grieve. We all have to make our own path through the pain and somehow find a way to honor loved ones who have passed on by shinning our light in a dark and broken world.

An excerpt...

Your mouth never spoke of the pain and the gold, deep down in your soul that simmered and boiled and never fully resolved
But now I know

Your words never gloated of the love that you doted on all the less fortuned you abetted and supported
But now I know


Photo Credit: @theferalone


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

you are so right there is no right way to grieve, you just do it as it comes. We are all so different so it's only natural that we grieve differently. Really sorry about you losing your father, right now you need to be gentle with yourself and celebrate him.

Just know that you are very brave. Having the courage to come here and share your true feelings with us is for me such a sign of strength. I admire people who can do that. What you wrote for your father is beautiful. Big respect.

Thank you. I’m glad you can see my heart in this. My goal on steemit is to be as vulnerable and genuine as I can and let people see my heart. It isn’t always easy but totally worth it.

I held back tears, absolutely beautiful! ❤️

So sorry for your loss. Beautiful tribute to your dad and thank you for sharing it.

I am sorry for your loss, and grateful for your beautiful words.

<3 Sending you a hug and all the love. I am so sorry. - Carl



Click the badge to learn more about
Human Certified Original Works

this is epic tho. nice content there. its cool the way you connect your emotions with your music, that's originality.

Thanks! Music and poetry have been some of the biggest outlets for me to express my emotions. It’s really therapeutic and enriching for me.

good thing it helps heal. be strong dear

Sorry for your loss , sometimes interpreting dance can help find solace in your deep sorrow

so sorry for your loss @introspector this is beautiful got me in tears..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60648.94
ETH 2906.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60