Budget Composing: a quick, dirty Keepforest Evolution: Atlantica demo

in #dsound6 years ago


Like a lot of people, I like making music, and the instant gratification and broader pallet of VSTs and other means of electronic music-making have made it a much easier hobby to pursue. I'm in awe of the kinds of tools that are increasingly available to hobbyists like me, while I'm not under too many illusions about how well I use those tools, it's at least nice that my limitations are about me, not readily available,

Anyway, I'd kind of been interested in finding a virtual instrument for hybrid scoring/trailer-music-type sounds, and when Keepforest's Evolution:Atlantica went on sale as part of a huge discount bundle at audiobundledeals dot com, I splurged on it.

I'm pleased with the plugin. It has a wide range of really versatile sounds, it's fairly easy on CPU usage, and the sounds are easy to manipulate with the built-in effects and sequencer menus.

Having splurged, I took some time to try to put the instrument through its paces, and the attached track is the result. It's a more-or-less trailer-style track (although it's a little slow and a little melodic for that) that--while it doesn't sound like a professional track, does demonstrate the range of the plugin. The track was made with sixteen instances of Evolution:Atlantica running in Kontakt, including booms, whooshes, risers, synth leads, guitars, low brass, deep string pad, hits, pulses and alarms.

For my own edification, and to make my experiment as helpful as possible to other hobbyists and amateurs, I didn't use any sounds outside of what's included in Atlantica, nor did I use any external effects or EQ. So if your response to this demo is "Good sounds, ill-used," well, it shouldn't be hard to improve on.

If I have any complaints about the library, it's mainly that the guitars and synths have a somewhat limited range, and some of the synth sounds aren't particularly inspiring. Working with those two sounds were definitely the points in the process where I most wished for other sounds or more control.

Anyway, if you own Kontakt, and you have 45 spare dollars and you'd like to take a shot at using these sounds more properly, you can still grab the deal at audiobundledeals.com for another twenty-four hours or so. Thanks for listening!
If you're



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Congratulations @juanersatzman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62486.49
ETH 3015.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93