The Rings of Saturn / Ambient Piano

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


The Rings of Saturn is a track that I created when listening to a lot of William Basinski. It is very subtle ambient that loops the same structure over and over again with a slight variation which induces a mediative state. I of course added my own twist and it has somewhat of an ominous tone towards the end.

Screen Shot 2018-05-09 at 3.52.04 PM.png

I made an accompanying video from some vacation footage where we came across some stone sculptures in the water on our way back from Gaspesie for those of you who like visuals with your music :)

Sort:  

Love the build at 4:00 - you are right, there is an ominous quality but also something nostalgic...like a melancholic reflection on the past. Very beautiful

Thank you I'm glad you liked it, when we filmed that footage I had no idea what it would be used for but it seemed to fit so perfect with this song :)

You have such a way combining your music with imagery. These are little video art installations we get to view from the comfort of our homes, but would happily live in a museum or gallery :)

Thank you Donna, there is something so powerful about music alone but sometimes the pairing with imagery just comes together so nicely it really adds another dimension and feeling, it's an interesting process because when I am making a video it sometimes even changes my own feelings about the music!

Being a visual person, as most artists are, I can't help but have a storyline appear in my head when I hear a piece of music. Then when you see a visual representation by the maker of the music it adds another layers.

It can be that way with music videos as well: a portrayal of the music. Athough the mainstream corporate produced stuff is pretty straight forward, written by the same two people who write for most artists across the board, the visuals are usually simply en message to whatever the song is trying to convey, usually unhappiness with current state and a desire for riches. But, I digress, I loved this music/video pairing :)

Really dreamy, the slight purple hazed out pink color scheme is exactly the tone of the song as well. Reminds me alot of john cage's In a Landscape:

Yours was a bit more surreal and juju omnious and that made it dreamier haha. Awesome viddy/song.

Beautiful video! Those dolls are intriguing. Reminds me of a comment I received on my (creepy) dolls post from a couple of days ago. @ryivhnn spoke of 'uncanny valley'. I don't think the dolls in your clip are uncanny. In fact, they are very peaceful - like the piano music accompanying this video - but I can't help but wondering about the meaning behind this piece of art. It doesn't have anything to with people who died at sea here?

<3 this little piece of art, even its title!

P.S. I will make sure to check out William Basinski :>)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01