Eternal Summertime

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Alright guys and gals, this new song has a cool history! Check out how @EdPrivat helped me transform this song into a grateful nod to the awesome musicians I have had the honor to write songs with in my past!

So, a month ago I came up with this groovin music and a vocal melody but no lyrics. I originally was going to enter into the SMA challenge for "Greatest Hits", but all I had was a chorus... Eternal Summertime...

Then Ed Privat hosted the lyric challenge with the theme "Gratitude". The challenge helped push me to finish writing the lyrics. I entered and friends...I won that challenge! So cool! I'm humbled because @daily-musings and @lilixblack also wrote great lyrics! check them out here steemit.com/music/@edprivat/music-lyrics-writing-competition-the-winners-announced-a-dsound-community-initiative

The prize is that Ed Privat would compose and record a song with my lyrics!! So I held back releasing my version until I heard his. Well, It's released and freaking awesome. He does some Timberlake smooth stuff with vocals that perfectly compliment the funky music he wrote. Check out our his song here: steemit.com/dsound/@edprivat/20180621t190318846z-grateful-ed-privat-lyrics-by-junkfeathers-winner-of-the-lyrics-contest

So there it is, two different songs interpreted from the same lyrics.

I was such a fool back then
didn't know what I had
I thought that summer would never end
the music was so powerful
felt the earth move under our feet
we knew how to make them move
If we knew it was our last scene
would it have changed anything
I'm grateful for what we shared - I'm grateful for you
I love where our light comes from
we shine so bright
we make eternal summertime
I'm still a fool but I've learned
to cherish those connections that
made waves that never crash
it carries on, endlessly
the music that lives inside of me
is opened up with your key
if we knew this was our last scene
would we write one more song?
I'm grateful for what we shared - I'm grateful for you
I love where our light comes from
we shine so bright
we make eternal summertime


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

really great track mate, both versions :)

Thanks for checking both out. It was a fun contest! So weirdly cool hearing my words sung by someone else! Awesome stuff!

yeah its strange isn't it , but great :)

Ed did a fantastic job!! love the song!

Very cool !!! I love the weirdness, there's a bit of Bowie in there right?

If I'm gonna steal inspiration, I'm gonna steal from the best ;)

It's not stealing if you made it your own :)

Just amazing...! It still has a bit of weirdness dissonance hidden between the lines of the pleasant voice, there, a bit of strangeness to it that makes it stand out precisely :)

Thank you!!! Yes, I'm full of weirdness! It's hard to keep it contained haha. That's why I try to write pop songs, the end result comes out somewhere in between :)

Great track, lovely summer listening...

Thank you friend!!

What a song! stunning wox worx and wide & spinning arrangement! ...... you know I am fan of one band called Hey Rosetta! you give that coolest feel brother :)

Thank you so much! I will have to check out Hey Rosetta!

Go Henry (I mean my fav song, and The Simplest Thing :)

Just listened to Go Henry! Great track! Love the piano work, they do a great job blending that the distorted guitars and string instruments. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks! ♪ ♬ ヘ(^▽^)ノ ♬ ♪

Very good story of this song, excellent music, very beautiful lyrics, and the melodic line of the voice relaxing; Well done!

Thank for stopping by to listen!! I appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61918.40
ETH 2900.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64