Superhighway

in #dsound6 years ago


After reading about the newfangled technology that was going to take over from cassette based recording, I found myself standing in a shop that built and sold PCs, can't say I've seen one in a while.

The date was 24th April 1999.

I came from a generation that had had no exposure to computers up to that point.

I said to the guy in the shop that I wanted a computer that I could use to record guitar and keyboards into.
In hindsight, it must have been an unusual request, the shop fell silent as a tumbleweed rolled across the floor.

After I had provided some more details about why exactly I did not want a computer on which I could play the latest games, they guy suggested that he might have just the thing for me.

Just arrived in his shop was a new generation of sound cards made by a company called 'Creative'.
However, in order for this to work I would need the memory upgrade to 64mb and just in case the music recording came to nothing, the 'Banshee' diamond fusion graphics card with a whopping 16mb of memory for game playing.

A few short weeks later, thanks to the cutting edge PC and a stripped down version of Cubase that was bundled with the soundcard, out popped my very first track.

'Superhighway' - an arrangement of ones and zeros on my hard disk and fully compatible with the yet to be invented technologies with which we were to share our music.

Not expecting any up votes for the track itself, but as an idea, as a massive step forward for people who had previously been frustrated by the mechanics of sound recording and as an indication of where Information Technology was at (before governments and global corporations had cottoned on) I thought it was worth an outing.


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61369.52
ETH 2929.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66