Mini Motivations #113 - Day 2 of Dsound Experiment - Why Would an Ex-Buddhist Monk send His Son to a

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Many of asked me why I an ex-Buddhist monk that I was, decided to send my son, William, to a Christian Home School. In today's podcast, I broke that question into the two main components:
  1. Why homeschool vs the traditional public school system?
  2. Why a Christian-based one?

I go deep into answering both these questions, along with my personal perspectives.

Enjoy.



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

85-90% transcription is pretty good, man. Then again, when you're trying to catch those little mistakes it might come off like looking for a needle in a haystack.

I, too, suffered in Chinese school during my primary years. And because of that was actually suicidal and depressed at an early age. I credit chinese school for the deep darkness that exists within me.

My brother, @reconstitution went through the ACE system and syllabus. I do remember the term goal setting being a term that was brought up a lot in his conversations. Never occurred to me how crucial something as simple as goal setting really is in the development of an effective human being. And on top that, he has really nice handwriting :)

"You can't study moral, you have to practice it." I think they just didn't like that we had any sort of "free" period. Seems they way of people to need to look busy and feel like it's time well utilized.

If I remember correctly Trinity and gang were removing the bug put into Neo by agent Smith.

Great stuff, @maverickfoo! Appreciate your openness and your honest thoughts as always. In my opinion, though I'm no father, I think your son, Will, is going to turn out great because of how much thought you put into his upbringing and education.

Hope your podcast goes well beyond the 21 days :)

Hey bro, sorry I missed your comment.

85% is good, but I think I'll keep them for later posts. The editing time is just too long.

I'm from a chinese school too, and it was suicidal too, not for me but for my teachers, haha! Yeah, I get what you mean. The peer pressure could be all time high, and frankly, I am not so sure if it creates that many outstanding employees/entrepreneurs than it did students.

Ah, I didn't know your bro went through the ACE system. How was it?

So far podcasting is fun. Want to work on my accent and also voice quality. Figured it's useful for the long run too, when I explore videos.

My daughter goes to a Chinese school while me and my wife are bananas. I would love to send my kid to homeschool but cost and location is quite a big factor also. Glad to hear your kid is enjoying it.

Ah, you was like your daughter, being sent to a Chinese school where both my parents were bananas. The first day I came back from school, I was already better than my parents in the mandarin speaking department, haha!

Well, there are gonna be stress that she will go through, I'm sure. Sometimes the stress can be good, because it will propel her to do better. Other times, it's the opposite that scares me.

The homeschooling resource center that William goes to is about RM1300 per month, inclusive of lunch, extra curricular activities and also materials. Sometimes I need need to pay more for the materials if he is going through them fast.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99