Zapaño Improv

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


The Zapaño is an instrument I picked up in Peru. It's the classic sound you hear in the background of many Peruvian traditional songs. It evokes the mountains (Apus) of Peru.. the windy steeps and spirits of Place. Join me tonight as I play some Improv!
► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

In the flow of life, music ALWAYS has merit.

I seem to go through phases as my interest and inspiration waxes and wanes. I haven't played this one in over a year and was inspired today to pick it back up. Allowing for the momentary expression through the vibrations of my breath meeting the reeds is medicine for me.

EBC7EDFB-60C3-486A-923B-631BC3233704.jpeg

I see music as medicine. I do not practice or rehearse.

I have always had a fondness for improv as I have never committed to learning a instrument in earnest. I always love when the music moves me to sound. The wind, the rasp and the rhythm soothe my soul. As someone who appreciates spontaneity having an instrument like this one is great because it's quite intuitive.

I'm always blessed as I remember my connection to Earth.

The elements of Earth of holy in themselves, and I really appreciate being able to connect to them. Simple woodwinds like this zapaño help me to connect the element of air. Playing for me is an expression of my gratitude and I always feel better after even a few minutes of music
Screen Shot 20181005 at 6.55.04 PM.png

Apus (mountain grandfathers) play Zapano... the spirit of the wind and mountains...

Sort:  

Aw Ini you beautiful man you. A man of many talents. Amazing how music an be so elemental.. so of a landscape. I love tuvulan throat singing for that.. you can just sense the landscape. Or the didge. Music is medicinal indeed. Big love and kisses and hugs. X

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm blushing, can you tell... Thanks for the encouraging words, I would do well to prioritize it more. hugs and kisses back atcha ;)

I'm like that with music too, where I go through phases. The vibrations are really important in healing I think and in actualizing good or bad in life.

YA, it's like i need music when I'm feeling the worst, but the least likely to play it... I guess it's a reminder to play even and especially when I feel down or low as it can certainly brighten things up.

Nice one, I believe practice makes perfection. You played like a guru. Thumbs up..wishing you good luck...

Thanks. It is certainly a pleasure to play.

that was lovely Ini, that sound it really did bring me back to the Andes and your improv was great, that is exactly how I like to play music as well. I do love the inner wildness it brings out xxx

thanks, glad you liked it.

the wildness in us all needs times and space and music is just so accessible. Even simply reminding ourselves that we don't need to think, say or be ANYTHING is a great reminder of how much more than our culture we are. Music helps melt all the walls that separate us form the WHOLE.

Music helps melt all the walls that separate us form the WHOLE.

this is perfect xxx

Hi @mountainjewel!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.679 which ranks you at #1510 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 14 places in the last three days (old rank 1496).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 271 contributions, your post is ranked at #43.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01