The Immortals-Original Song

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)



I was looking through a few folders of my music files and found a few tracks that I had done in Sonar and Reason a few years back. Since I am still trying to heal my voice right now I decided to upload this one as my first one to DSound.

In Chinese culture there is the idea of the Immortals who are part of the Taoist tradition. I claim no authority in these matters but I have spent some time with the Tao Te Ching and the I Ching and have always felt an affinity to Taosim.

While I have written a fair amount of music using software/samples/synths, this is the only track that I have written lyrics for that was not composed on the guitar...perhaps it is the type of song that one writes if one is a taoist hermit like myself.

All of the music and vocals are me except for the solo electric guitar which was played by Rich Taylor

Peace to You

We are all

All we are

To be here with you

I've traveled far

Brought by friends

Of spirit light

They have helped me find my way

Through the night

Now I don't mean

To criticize

But the truth be told

And not denied

We had to come down

From on high

You could not

Climb the mountain

We've been hiding up in the air

You don't mind us there

Where we drift upon the days

Flying up in the air

As your gazes stare

Vacantly away

Spread the word

It is the time

We have got to learn

A way of life

In your heart

It does dwell

And there you will start

To incant the spell

If this world

You do love

Listen to the voices

From above

Sometimes you know

To be All One

You have to be Alone

You will find it up in the air

Let it take you there

Where we patiently await

Try it up in the air

I can see you there

As you reach toward the day


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

You are very talented. I hope your voice is healing ok and that you do not have a painful throat or anything like that. I could describe myself as a hermit too I suppose, though I never have, just happy in my own space.

Thank you for the well wishes...I am hopeful that I will be back to singing again soon!
Be Well. Peace

just awesome bro. fun to hear Rich on the guitar, good memories ...

Yeah I remember he had never heard the song and I played it for him a couple of times. Then he just did a few takes and gave me permission to sample them, so these guitar solos are made up of multiple clips that I put together from his riffs.
Peace bro

Nice one mate - was not expecting that sound, very cool :D

Hey I sent you a message on discord and wanted to check in, in case you missed it - hope to hear from you soon, cheers :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57