Surrendering

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)



Today's assault on the guitar left me with a lot more questions than answers.
I decided to do a single string legato run in the middle section but it wasn't coming out too well so I have been spending a bit more time on it as I intend to perform this for next weeks open mic contest.

Although I listened to Satch a fair amount I never played legato in the way he did and it's been an interesting couple of weeks working on the technique, it's ok in most places but single string runs are difficult.

If it was easy I guess it wouldn't be worth doing :)

Enjoy and thanks for listening

And just for the geeks: Ibanez RG421, Boss Katana no other effects/pedals, $200 AUD Acoustic, Superior Drummer and Kontakt for bass.

Cheers!



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Very nice. I would be interested in video where you work through that Legato run. How to you pipe your guitar in to record? I am sure you have answered this in a previous post but since I just joined I have not gotten to them all.

Mostly I just chuck a $30 mic in front of a Boss Katana, it's just too easy to get a passable tone with. then some delay and reverb added in the DAW and good to go. I have a Tascam 16x08, nothing flash or over the top like UAD because in reality I am only making demos here.

Great! Is that a Shure Sm57 by chance. I hear a lot about that mic.

nah, I have a few ISK microphones - ridiculously cheap and adequate. depending on your situation or setup though I would skip microphones and just get a Mooer Radar, you chuck it at the end of whatever pedals and stuff you are using and you are good to go. If you are looking at buying anything for acoustic/vocals/electric etc get a large diaphragm condenser mic and an sm57 - they will cover almost anything. I did use a stereo pair of small diaphragm condenser mics on the acoustic in this tune but only because it saved me double tracking >.>

The Mooer Radar looks awesome. Thanks

I decided to do a single string legato run in the middle section but it wasn't coming out too well so I have been spending a bit more time on it as I intend to perform this for next weeks open mic contest.

For me, i use hammer ons and flick offs to play my scales. I never knew it was a technique until a friend told me it was . To me i was compensating my weak alternate picking abilities :D

Although I listened to Satch a fair amount I never played legato in the way he did and it's been an interesting couple of weeks working on the technique, it's ok in most places but single string runs are difficult.

They difficult at first but with frequent tries comes perfection. Good job man, keep producing the good sounds

What a nice groove! I have it looping as I get to the process of writing. There is something about this that hits me. I think the whole thing came out better than you are giving yourself credit for. Following

Nice melody mate can really do with w lesson on this

The lesson I learned years ago is: Keep it simple. I will do lick of the week on the descending legato run, well, the idea/technique behind it anyway which is more important than any particular lick.

guitar can be a friend when we are lonely, guitar can be entertained that's usefulness in guitar of course many people who like music so simple tool to sing that is guitar

Nice melody. Keep it up.

Congratulations @outoftune, this post is the fifth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 3786 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $12894.84. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15