Midnight Song (original)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


I use this old picture of me.. to share this old song of mine.. I wrote this one night in that way of streaming consciousness. I have several songs recorded that way.. hit record and pick up the guitar and play, never changed it later, never added anything nor took anything away. It is exactly now what it exactly was then.

This morning I'm listening to it after a hard week of trying to figure out the meaning of things in this little world I live in. It's a big little world, this world. This planet. This universe.

It's bigger than I allow it to be. This world is bigger than I allow it to be. Think about that sentence and you will understand me better. Figure out the meaning behind it and you will have answered my biggest pondering. How can a world so tiny feel so very BIG? It is BIGGER than we ALLOW it to be. Are you understanding me? Am I understanding myself???? I ask myself. The answer isn't coming to me.

I find it interesting that it's similar in some ways to the new song I just wrote called, "Fly." I even talk about flying. To be fair, though, if I had a new song for every time I mentioned flying in my songs I'd have a dozen new albums by now. Here are the lyrics, very sporadic, and the mood makes no sense at times. But I like this little song of mine.


Lyrics:

Pick me up off the floor,
I've fallen
down.
I can't help myself anymore
since you left me
alone

Wrap your arms around me
like you did when we first loved
sing me a story
about things that I know
about things that I love

Babe, you know I love you
but I can't take this
anymore
If you can't see me for who I am
I'll be on my way
from home here

and it's cold

in the morning
when you're not here
for me
to hold

But i will make it on my own
I can fly if you let me

I can
be
beautiful

I can
fly

I wonder who I could be if I tried?
Could I be one of those angels
in the midnight sky?

I wonder who you could be
if you tried to be
If you tried to BE.

©2018 @paintingangels (s.matthews)

If Dsound will not play, you can hear the song here:
https://www.reverbnation.com/serenamatthews/song/6024236-midnight-song


I apologize for not always responding right away to comments. I am terrible at that, it just depends on the day. In my head I reply quickly and to everything. In my head I'm so well put together and on top of things. Come into my head with me and we'll talk for hours. I'll see you then if I don't see you now.

► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

nice song... so moving....Its really nice to see a musician who writes their own song and put it in the platform cause it really adds value and quality here in steemit...keep it up and hopefully i will see you joining the openmic...im not a judge there or anything... just I suggest

I wouldn't change a thing , this is so beautiful, you caught that moment in time. Yeah! Hit record played and sung Perfectly , I'm on my second listen .

Noticed @nakedverse had resteemed this, so glad he did, you vocal tone is utterly wonderful, and I agree this is just perect as it is. Delightful in every way.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

stunning vocals :)

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @Amberyooper from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Your stream of consciousness song writing is simply awesome!
You have a way of tugging at my heart strings with your songs that is very effective! :-)
This is the kind of post that should be in trending.

I fall in love with the song. The lyrics are very deep, your voice is fantastic!

My, what a pretty young lady! It's funny how the years fly by and leave us wondering how we got here and yearning for the good ol' days. LOL. Very cool!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99