Emily Dickinson's Dream (original)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Very basic, short and simple-as-simple-gets instrumental track I did after reading some Emily Dickinson and feeling dreamy. If I had a xylophone I would have used it, but just used my keyboard.

Emily is the poet for me that takes everything away from the outside world when I need to go inside of my head for awhile. Or maybe it is the opposite of that. Maybe it's when I need to go OUTside of my head. I don't know.

Here's one of my favorite poems. I hope you like it.

Because I could not stop for Death –
He kindly stopped for me –
The Carriage held but just Ourselves –
And Immortality.

We slowly drove – He knew no haste
And I had put away
My labor and my leisure too,
For His Civility –

We passed the School, where Children strove
At Recess – in the Ring –
We passed the Fields of Gazing Grain –
We passed the Setting Sun –

Or rather – He passed us –
The Dews drew quivering and chill –
For only Gossamer, my Gown –
My Tippet – only Tulle –

We paused before a House that seemed
A Swelling of the Ground –
The Roof was scarcely visible –
The Cornice – in the Ground –

Since then – ‘tis Centuries – and yet
Feels shorter than the Day
I first surmised the Horses’ Heads
Were toward Eternity –

-Emily Dickinson


Song ©2018 paintingangels

Photo:
Emily Dickinson. Daguerreotype. ca. 1847
Creative Commons - Public Domain


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

mindblowing painting....stunning

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63