Too Quiet (original)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Here is a song that I recently entered in the Steemit Open Mic contest. I uploaded a previous version of it awhile back, but haven't actually uploaded this version that I used on one of my CDs. So, here it is. It is undoubtedly flawed but I'm okay with it.

Sitting alone at night.. looking out the window at the stars.. it can make you think.

Lyrics

It's too quiet in this house
with my sweet angels fast asleep
I'm alone here in this room
and all my thoughts are rumbling deep

There's a window by my side,
Lady Moon is smiling high
and as I gaze into the night
these raging questions flood my mind

I see the stars there
swirling round
and how I wonder
what we really are

I sing my questions
to the skies
and wait for answers
I know that I can't find
(I can't find)

My head is spinning like a dream
it won't slow down for anything
this life is bigger than we are
and all the clouds and trees and stars

So, I'm sitting in this house
shades of starlight in my head
when I should just run straight to bed
and pile the pillows over my head

But I see the stars there
swirling round
and how I wonder
just what we really are

I sing my questions to the skies
and wait for answers
I know that I can't find

I can't find

Song and photo (of Venus) © paintingangels (s. matthews)

Also on Choon with 50% split
choon.co/tracks/0uefimbthnr/too-quiet

Here's the video I used for Open mic Week 100. If anyone wants a video version.


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

♥♥♥ You might be the only one.

Did you see my "cover a steemian" version of it?

Hi @paintingangels!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.183 which ranks you at #2872 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 153 places in the last three days (old rank 3025).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 224 contributions, your post is ranked at #9.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05