Hiding Verses: Hot Lava

in #dsound6 years ago



This is a #mentalhealth poem about the experience of depersonalization. Google defines "depersonalization" as:

> de·per·son·al·i·za·tion
dēˌpərsənələˈzāSH(ə)n/Submit
noun
the action of divesting someone or something of human characteristics or individuality.
PSYCHIATRY
a state in which one's thoughts and feelings seem unreal or not to belong to oneself, or in which one loses all sense of identity.

This psychiatric state is one I used to regularly experience. It was frightening. I felt adrift from the world and my sense of self, found it a struggle to connect to anyone or anything around me. Despite a very strong vein of optimism in my personality, depersonalization would roll me into a pessimistic, uncertain haze. Medication fazed this recurring experience out. I now have only glimmers of not being myself, and only when I am highly stressed.

It's important to talk and write about these experiences in order to bring understanding and destigmatize. I hope that this poem serves to do both.

Image Credit: unsplash.com/photos/aLnqDp3B3YU



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65925.23
ETH 3003.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75