Hiding Verses: Me Too

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)



I have been working on a collection of poetry about my time in Lebanon. Only one piece has appeared on Steemit so far. It's called "Fruit" and you can find it if you want to go looking.

Lebanon is from where my patrilineage hails. I grew up steeped in Lebanese culture, food, and sounds. As an adult in the United States, I lost my way culturally, fearfully dividing myself from my upbringing post-9/11. This piece is one I'm still working with, and it touches on cultural separation and survivorship of terrorism from fellow Americans who were/are violently anti-Arab. But it also touches on another collection I've written; a series of poems exploring rape and sexual assault.

Here I bring the pieces tentatively together--the violation of land and body, earth and culture. Ultimately, the destruction of the sense of self.

I want to share this even though I know I can do better. Because some of you are out there saying me too. I hear you.

Image credit: unsplash.com/photos/sZB9Vz58bAQ



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Beautiful poem and great reading!

Like the memories we never experienced.

That line gave me chills. Thank you for vulnerably sharing.

❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Nice Heart touching poetry. It reminds me my homeland. Thanks @shawnamawna

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62845.90
ETH 3173.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82