Hiding Verses Podcast: The Mommy Problem

in #dsound6 years ago



Being identified as a mom feels terrible to me. There is so much more to me, but that's only part of the problem. Another piece is that being a mom is seen as "just something people do." It's undervalued in the skills it requires and the energy it takes. Sure, people see that it can be hard.

In this podcast, I record in my van where I talk about why I don't want people to see me as a mom, why they do, and I invite you to introduce yourself in comments on your own terms.

How do you want people to see you?

Image made with WordSwag



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

In the business world, the rearview mirror is always clearer than the windshield.

Interesting post. I never think about it.

I have never think that mothers don't want to look like mothers to other people sometimes.

It's an interesting idea, isn't it? I mean, it is to me because it's my life. LOL

Terrific pod. I definitely don't think of you as a mom first. On here, to me, you're a poet, performer, healer.

And I think I present myself as I want to be seen on here as well. Smart (I'd say that's way more important to me than it should be, but I don't believe in "should"), helpful, good.

Smart is spot on for you. I think of you as an intellectual literary mogul. Helpful, kind and compassionate as well.

Mothers and people who see mothers are not mothers that they are too hard and have no feelings, the mother is important in our lives and I want to be a man loved by people and I love them and succeeded and God heal me from suffering because I have kidney failure

I hope you are healed.

Though i'm not a parent yet but i believe parenting is a continuous process
in learning and acquiring skills and knowledge on how kids or children are
raised as long as you are with kids or children. Parenting only comes to an end
when you are no more with kids or alive. @shawnamawna.

It is absolutely ongoing. We have to grow in order to support our children's growth. I love your insight.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62789.36
ETH 3158.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82