Hiding Verses Podcast: The Trust Problem

in #dsound6 years ago



Trusting ourselves is the key to any successful relationship, but we are often taught to trust others before trusting ourselves. As a result, we internalize shame and develop low self-worth when really we are to be celebrated.

Today I'm talking about how abuse taught me not to trust myself and why I worked to learn to lean on my instinct despite my upbringing.

Image made with WordSwag.



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

trusting our self is the best before trusting others in a relationship

<3 Well said.

thank you for this @shawnamawna, this is something that we all need to work on x

It's amazing to me that it's such a common challenge. I'd love to read about if you address this with your kids and how your nomadic lifestyle impacts that @trucklife-family.

You know yourself more than any other person, so self trusting must be 100%
guaranteed by your own self but not the confirmations from others who don't
really know the true you. @shawnamawna.

Yes, absolutely. We are the only people who can know our minds. Even counseling sessions are simply a chance for us to accurately contextualize what we already know (and reframe it as necessary).

I am really encouraged by listening to your podcast. Thank you.

I am warmed to hear this @papaudeme. If I can touch just one person, I have succeeded.

I want to start with how incredibly impressed I am with you, yet again. With the way you've worked your way through abuse and used it to become a better and more thoughtful person. It's incredible.

Instead of answering your question in the comments, I went ahead and posted a response.

I read your response this morning and am on my way over to comment there. I loved it and I'm so excited we are having Steemit "conversation."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63091.31
ETH 3172.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81