Slack-T - Rain (Interpretation) - idea and lyrics by @paintingangels

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Hello everyone! Finally I found some time to write a new post. The last weeks were pretty busy with work and life in general... Oh well, I won't go on whining about that ;)

Thanks to Serena Matthews who sent me the song idea for "Rain" and lyrics, I worked on a new track. It's not exactly a cover, maybe more an "interpretation". Her idea track is beautiful already

and has so much charme - I really hope she posts it some time soon (hint hint, poke poke Serena :o) ).
To be honest, this is the first time I was working on a project like that and well, I'm not really a professional singer but I hope I got it across.

About the making of the track, I used as little of quantization as possible, the drums are way from "tight", as I wanted to make it sound more organic. Sound wise, I used modelled orchestra

percussion samples I played on my padKontrol "by hand" and pianos with heavy FX.

Again, much love and a huge shout out goes to Serena (@paintingangels - follow her!!) and an even more huge THANK YOU for sending me the idea
and allowing me to use it!! <3 <3 <3

Here are the lyrics:

Rain falling down
falling down
below my eyes are pain frowns
and now the rain falls - down

A hollow wind weeps for the selfish sun
while I'm here all alone
in my warm skin

whisper: rain's falling down (2x)

The moon knew my name
but she missed the stars
now the rain falls down on me
the rain falls down (2x)

So here I sit again
my fingers are trembling
I'm almost singing to myself again
when the rain falls down

Rain's falling down -
down down down
The rain's falling down -
down down down

Rain falling down
falling down
below my eyes are pain frowns
and now the rain falls - down

Chorus (2x)

Lyrics and idea: Serena Matthews @paintingangels
Vocals and music: Thomas Mallek @slacktmusic

©2018 All rights reserved



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Isn't she a poet?
I think you made it shift into your own way. Looking forward to listen to her take
Glad to see and listen to this collaboration
You say you are not a professional singer yet your voice stood up pleasently.
.

Thank you @yidneth <3 I'm really honored you think I did OK :)
She definitively is a poet!

Awesome track, the keys and percussion create a great foundation and your voice adds the perfect element. I love your tracks. More Slack!

thank you so much sir!

You were chosen for my 🎧 DSound TOP5! 🎧 on Sunday - Thank You!

Oh wow thank you my friend!

I love it so much, Tom! It's perfect, you gave the song LIFE and made it very much your own. I knew you'd take it somewhere very special, and here you've done it! I am not very much into collabs usually, because I just don't have the time to work on them.. and honestly, I'm hard to work with.. but just so the listeners know how talented you are.... all I did was give Tom an old scratch track and say "What do you think of this?" And he put it into a rocket ship and took it to the moon!

I'd be crazy not to have asked. Thanks so much for working with me! ♥ Much love!
Serena

And you are so very much an amazing singer!!

Not sure what to say to you besides Thank you again :)
Working on this was so much needed in the last weeks, I've been pretty much stressed out, even to the point of getting chest pains :( Not sure what that was about... At least I do some sports again and well, working on music. This was always the best medicine there is for me... And you've been the doctor who prescribed some awesome soundwaves for me :)
Much love to you!

Too much stress will definitely mess you up...

Awwwww! WellI will work with you anytime! Just let me know if you need more medicine! I have dozens of tracks just waiting for magic . And the chest pains sound worrisome!! Definitely check into that! Hugs!

I really enjoyed this interpretation of Serena's song, this was really well done! Quite different from the original, it's like a new song from the same writing.

Thank you @amberyooper! So glad you enjoyed it. It was a great challenge and welcome distraction :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by slacktmusic from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @slacktmusic! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Final results coming soon

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Great job on this song!! Keep it up that sma rim is smooth

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93