[Connecting with Literature] Youth by Samuel Ullman | Photograph by @soria.lee

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

I thought starting this series by sharing my all time favorite poem called “YOUTH” would be perfect as a reminder of how I want to pursue life. Written by 78-years-old Samuel Ullman(1840-1924) in 1918, this poetry challenges the reader with a question. What is youth? The author argues that youth is defined by the “state of mind” rather than “a time of life”.

Over the couple months, I was frustrated by how vain my life was. I was frustrated because I no longer knew who I truly was and what I believed in. I used to have an opinion fully backed up by my strong morals. But these days, when involved in a discussion, I can no longer speak out. I don’t really have an opinion anymore. Somehow, I got used to this everyday adult life. There are responsibilities to keep in mind, tasks to do and goals to achieve. Goals and dreams that once started with a meaning lost their purpose as time made them into chores. And first time in my life, I felt dumb and childish.

With the hopes of getting my old self back, I started questioning the reasons of how this all happened. What am I missing?

The solution I decided was literature. And that’s why I have put [Connecting with Literature] as one of my personal goals for 2018. I used to love reading poetry,essays, speeches and quotes. After reading, I enjoyed writing in my journal about how I felt about the piece.

This time, I wanted to express myself using photography and illustrations in hopes of inspiring or motivating someone out there as well.

"YOUTH" by Samuel Ullman
https://dsound.audio/#/@soria.lee/connecting-with-literature-youth-by-samuel-ullman-soria-lee

“Nobody grows old merely by a number of years.
We grow old by deserting our ideals.”

One of the questions I ask myself too frequently these days is, “Is it worth it?” I considered weighing my options was being smart. Yet, frequently asking myself this question also meant I wasn’t sure. Of course I wasn’t sure. As time ticks away, I got impatient by the fact that I still haven’t accomplished anything. The girl who believed strongly in freedom, justice and hope lost her way and became a slave to cycle of life. Thus, she lost her voice.

“Years may wrinkle the skin,
but to give up enthusiasm wrinkles the soul.”

So, how old is your soul?

IMG_0777.JPG
"Age of my Soul" Photographed by @soria.lee

"YOUTH" by Samuel Ullman
Youth is not a time of life; it is a state of mind; it is not a matter of rosy cheeks, red lips and supple knees; it is a matter of the will, a quality of the imagination, a vigor of the emotions; it is the freshness of the deep springs of life.
Youth means a temperamental predominance of courage over timidity of the appetite, for adventure over the love of ease. This often exists in a man of sixty more than a boy of twenty. Nobody grows old merely by a number of years. We grow old by deserting our ideals.
Years may wrinkle the skin, but to give up enthusiasm wrinkles the soul. Worry, fear, self-distrust bows the heart and turns the spirit back to dust.
Whether sixty or sixteen, there is in every human being's heart the lure of wonder, the unfailing child-like appetite of what's next, and the joy of the game of living. In the center of your heart and my heart there is a wireless station; so long as it receives messages of beauty, hope, cheer, courage and power from men and from the infinite, so long are you young.
When the aerials are down, and your spirit is covered with snows of cynicism and the ice of pessimism, then you are grown old, even at twenty, but as long as your aerials are up, to catch the waves of optimism, there is hope you may die young at eighty.

PLEASE CLICK TO LEARN MORE ABOUT THE POET.
https://www.uab.edu/ullmanmuseum/


I am hoping Steemit would help me get my art supplies and help out on my tuition fee. So, upvotes and comments are highly appreciated! Also, I am a graphic design student and I am here to learn! If you have any suggestions about anything within my post please let me know ^_^ !!!

And don’t forget to follow @soria.lee. I will follow you back!!!
-Soria

Sort:  

Really love the poem..looks forward for more of your favorite poems.

@laineraine Thank you so much! Glad to find someone also appreciate the poem!

Beautiful image to fit this text <3
I am a forever kid refusing to grow up, hope I can stay that way for the second half of my life too ^_^
Thank you for sharing it!

@shlomit thank you so much!! I'm so glad you understand the overall meaning. I am pretty sure you can stay kid forever as long as u dont let urself grow up!

I guess that's inevitable than :D

LOL I was playing with DSound and realized everything is linked. Since I had something else in mind for the actual post I changed it. But I can't seem to change the tag dsound... below is the link for my recording of the poem.

https://dsound.audio/#/@soria.lee/connecting-with-literature-youth-by-samuel-ullman-soria-lee

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66021.84
ETH 2981.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70