The Most Important Principle in Business and Life

in #dsound5 years ago


Most important principle to remember in business —- and in life.

Business-Building Action from Terry Brock for DSound and Steemit

You never get it just perfect! That’s the way life works. Instead, you have to keep adjusting, adapting, and changing along with way.

I used to fantasize that someday, I know that day off in the distance, somewhere out there when I’ve “made it” that I would have it all set. The world would be just perfect with rainbows, unicorns and happiness for all.

That never happens.

Instead we have continual set-backs and disappointments. We have real painful failures. Yep! It still happens. However, each time that happens, you get a chance to make a decision. Do I give up or do I get up? Do I learn from this colossal mess-up, or do I just throw in the towel?

I remember the great Earl Nightingale of the Nightingale-Conant Corporation in Chicago once said that the difference between successful people and unsuccessful people is not whether they fail. All of us do from time to time. It is how you handle that failure that matters. Successful people learn from their failures, then get right back up and go at it again.

I like to say it is about what I call Smart Persistence. This is where you are intelligent as you get up and go at it again and again. You learn each time from your dumb mistakes. You don’t keep smashing your head against a brick wall thinking, “Well I just have to do it harder next time.”

Baloney!

Instead, you learn and don’t repeat the same stupid mistakes that you made earlier.

This is part of that adapting, adjusting and changing you have to do in business to get ahead. Learn when an ad campaign sucks. Learn when it is terrible. Learn from your (excuse my language) stupid mistakes and make it better. Get the help you need. Read books. Watch great YouTube videos. Attend conferences and seminars where you learn from really smart people.

Stay the course —- or not if it is not right anymore. But practice Smart Persistence, can you’ll do much better.

Let me know what you think. I look forward to hearing from you.

Terry

TerryBrock.com
@terrybrock - Steemit


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Persistence is key. It's how you get back up.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep! you are right, @wstanley226. Thank you for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99