Director's Cut

in #dsound6 years ago



Well for a little back story on this track. I wanted to create an instrumental track that had a feeling of jubilation and excitement. Most of the time if I have a style in mind, I just go to the instruments closest to that style and began to build. However with this one, I decided to think about a setting around the track. I thought about friends that use to hang out regularly, but with the rigors of work and life, going for months without really hanging out together. Then I asked myself "what if those friends had been planning a night out for weeks?". How would that sound? I said "what about the party before the party on that night"? What about the soundtrack of the lead up to the destination as well as the entrance? I imagined if four female friends hit the town on a Friday night and had the cameras on them what would that soundtrack sound like. I said they would probably shoot a mini move. I therefore named it Director's Cut because I envisioned it as being the extra footage to an epic night. During that night I imagined with the fun and excitement the friends shared, they would have all eyes on them as they strolled the town. Then I said it would almost certainly be a fashionable and confident affair. So in a sense it would resemble a mini fashion show as well. therefore I gave the sound a vogue like undertone.

Production Style: I have a wide range of sounds as I will display in the coming weeks and months on Dsound. But for this particular track I decided to lead with the bass because I wanted that consistent, rhythmic dance base. I decided to add some congas to give it a little swing action. I then added rolling snares and sound fx to keep the action and to spruce it up on the transitions. I placed in chop synths for melodic contrast, and threw in several other sounds to make the track full.

Thanks for listening!


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50