Rob Chiavelli - Shades of Grey

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)



This song comes from a period in my life when I was becoming strongly convicted to not participate in the government system. I was also waking up to see how the churches were another arm of the control grid. I was losing religion but clinging to faith. I still am.

During this time I spent a lot of time playing music on the street for tips. Golden times. I wrote this song "out there" as I played, watching the people in their ignorance of their slavery. There is a lot more in the song but some things are left for the listeners interpretation.

The shades of grey are fadin

with the world upon your back

the consequence of waiting

there's no turnin back

When the Spirit calls you out - like the wind without a sound

to the heart of all that's true - now it's up to you

I'm losin your religion

I aint wavin that flag

I got a premonition

and I aint turnin back

And the Spirit calls you now - like the wind without a sound

to the heart of all that's true - now it's up to you

~

should I sing - the pretty songs of praise
while swimming in - our spiritual malaise
or take my cue from to the prophets of the age - with a tainted god all the worlds a stage
just close your eyes
and pick a prize

Am I a cop out - or are you a sell out
you are what you breathe
am I a cop out - or are you a sell out
how long till we see?

and the choir sings - oh, he’s fallen down
as the coyotes breathe - that chilling sound
and somewhere in between - defiled and pristine
I hold my breathe
and take a step


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

You are a pretty talented songwriter and singer. This your proffesion?

@sorry I missed your comment. Thank you. There was a time I fed myself aying on the street for tips but I have been a craftsman, finish carpenter for as long as I have been playing.

I've Follow, Upvote. Interesting post. I like, multiply the article and expand it again. Spirit and keep working. Follow me @madimancity

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49