Desolation Waltz

in #dsound6 years ago


Portrait of the Ah-tiste as a Grumpy Old Fart... This is a song I wrote over 30 years ago, but this instrumental recording is about 10 or 12 years old in David Hildreth's studio (facebook.com/David-Hildreth-Music-108700065845932/?ref=profile_intro_card). It appeared in my mind nearly full-blown (structurally, anyway) as a result of simply experimenting with unfamiliar MIDI gear in Premarnava prabhu's studio in Bahulavana (winter, 1986, I think). This Sunday is his memorial service, and I owe him so much of a debt I can now not even begin to repay. I can only offer my undying love for his inspiration, both for his musical grace and influence, and far more for spiritual inspiration, as much him as any of the more advanced devotees of Lord KRSNA whose association I have had the unmerited privilege to experience in this life.

Here are the lyrics, the sanskrit verse is from Sri Krsna Caitanya's siksastaka:

Desolation Waltz

Oh, my love, I have fallen
Into a web of my own making
Surely, now, I will soon perish
Should you fail to rescue me

There I stood, full of strength and confidence
Fame and fortune at my beck and call
Out of kindness now, you have taken all away
Left me naught, save this desolation waltz

Oh my love, I have fallen
Into an ocean of desperate fear
Tears keep falling from my eyes like rain
And I am left alone, calling out your name
While I dance the desolation waltz

yugaiyitam nimisena caksusa pravisaiyitam
sunyaiyitam jagat sarvam Govinda (x3) virahena me

I know nothing, save you are my only love
Whether your treat me well or ill
You can do anything you like with me
I can only stand with folded hands
And do the desolation waltz



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

full of emotion, great piece man!!! :) perfect your performance, also your lyrics was amazing ;)

This was heavily improvised, I have a much more structured and defined version @primatives-usa perfom (the introduction is completely different, also), and we will do a polished recorded version soon.
When I sit and consciously write, upon reading through, I usually feel most of what I've written to be contrived, and, while perhaps clever, less than transparent to my heart's desire- this waltz (and it is a waltz, intentionally broken, my only a posteriori contrivance to support the lyric) was certainly NOT intentional, but received through inspiration. Although the lyric was written a few weeks after the music (I dimly remember), they were very spontaneous, and I'd realized several verses were simply restatements of the translation of several of the Siksastakam, so I cut them in favor of including the single Sanskrit verse. I felt it much more honest and direct.
I'm delighted something like this can reach appreciative ears- but not surprised you're the first to react, having listened to your postings (with great admiration and enjoyment)
Have a blessedly beautiful day.

thank you so much, it was a really great description of your work, here in steemit the way is like this, when i started i had less view and less sbd under my post, but for posting everyday and working harder, and starting communication with different people i could reach this situation, and also a chance, but anyway i want to say that you are exactly doing it right, do you also add your link to dsound group in discord? also you can add your link to other groups for more views

https://discord.gg/BSC3eAw dsound

https://discordapp.com/channels/325308475687305237/401988801632927744 SLMS

https://discord.gg/NuXKU9 PAL

Peace!!

I'll do that, thanks for the reminder- discord kind of drives me crazy, though...

I'm uploading a guitar track now from "12-String Reveries", also.

sorry , i saw these now, discord is for chat and its like for example Telegram, or other platforms, but here steemit's community created groups, you are new in there, they have rules, do their instructions, like if you are in dsound channel you can go inside your dsound and copy the link and send it to promo part for curators

I joined the dsound server, but can't post anything because it keeps saying it's an unclaimed account, but won't let me log in, as it says my email's already in use.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54