Beneath the Sand

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


6 years ago I was one of the people who stayed online on twitter for days without little to no sleep passing on information to the protestors in Cairo Egypt during Arab spring 2. While it can of course never compare to the bravery of the protestors on the ground it is still one of the things in my life I am very much proud of. Some of you might remember the iconic images from Tahrir Square. In that time I wrote this song for some of the people I met online there some of which were murdered during the protests. While the revolution ended up going horribly wrong what happened during those days showed me the true power of social media used in the right way, it showed me that the net can bring a whole world community together and that we can make a difference through social media even from the most remote places if we choose to use it the right way. Sadly Twitter has turned into a complete joke as has most social Media these days …

When I first came to Steemit I thought I could feel the spectres of possibility of the early internet and the political punch of early social media call to me behind all the shitposts and riff raff …was I wrong? who knows … I have become somewhat disillusioned but time will tell …

As is here is the Song I wrote at the time -Enjoy!I recommend watching the video with some of the iconic images of the protests to understand maybe a bit of the gravity of the situation at the time …

Lyrix:

Do remember where we once came from
do you remember what we once dreamed
beyond the war-zones
beyond the killings
beyond the ashes
beyond the flames

Do you still love me
for I have loved you
did we not dance here once in the rain
(If I die before I wake will you be there my soul to take )
I can hear music under the screaming
I can hear laughter under the pain

(If I die before I wake will you be there my soul to take )

Here lay our buried
here lay our broken
here lays our future
here lays our past

Will you still be here when I awaken
will you still be here
will you still be here
do you remember
do you remember
Shhhhh…..

if d-sound is having issues listen on Choon


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

teamgoodbanner2.png

(Image credit Dave Renike and a portrait of the fair jubilee made by myself turned into this here universal truth meme) 1146410_626398614061443_1547687283_o.jpg

moi.jpg

nan small.jpg

Artists & Musicians wanted for the One Project
Image source
One small .png

Image Credit
lgbt.jpg

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

image.png

https_%2F%2Fsteemitimages.com%2F0x0%2Fhttps_%2F%2Fsteemitimages.com%2FDQmY3JBUUKtaCCjQz5tgPudAQF7SP6otqHG61zwQqfhNWas%2FDQmY3JBUUKtaCCjQz5tgPudAQF7SP6otqHG61zwQqfhNWas.png

music.jpg


catspace 150 dpi medium.png
this little girl was made for me by @barbara-orenya

Sort:  

Hello @tygertyger, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94