Priscilla Hernandez: No matter what they say (Original song) What is rare is precious (italent round 4)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

Be proud of being the odd one out, the misunderstood, the strange. Rarity is often an unexpected source of beauty.
No matter what they say...

NoMatter.jpg

Listen on DSOUND or watch the VIDEOCLIP and keep on reading :)

yidneth.com



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

This is my entry for italent round 4 organized by @ivan.atman :)

Above you can see the music while you read the rest of the article and lyrics. Warning there are rats in the video... so if you don't want to see them you can listen to the song in audio only in Dsound
Still I recommend you to watch, you may find them cute even if you don't like ratties. You might be surprised.

Do not slave your own free will

do not slave your own free will - by priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com).jpg

Live your life... It's noone elses' but yours
The only path that is worth is your own.
Dare to be different.

Remember who you were... Be aware of who you are... Decide who you will be

Do not slave your own free will... Not even when you dream. You are in control, free and conscious to make your own choices and even to learn from your mistakes. Nothing holds you... Those ropes are fraying
You are free to make your own choices... even if you think you are not...
Break through your fear... first step is the hardest

Be yourself... trying to be another will only extenuate and frustrate you. Learn to love who you are... your virtues and your flaws, both make you unique
The most precious gems are the rarest...

Dedicated to all the misfits, below me dressed as the fantasy nerd I am in the city. I will post a funny video of the making of this videoclip next 25th of May which is Geek pride Day in Spain.

nomatterwhattheysay (2).jpg

What is rare is precious

No matter what they say - by Priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com).jpg

PD. I studied animal and molecular Biology. I have never hurt an animal and I would not be able to do it for research either, thus I only have my degree but I became an artist with "rats as pets". You know me as the girl that "plague" everyone with Rat memes and here is why.

What about prejudices?

Rats are smart, clean, loving... and the most amazing companions with each other... They were historically blamed for the "Plague" that they did not cause. A group of rats is called mischief. Honestly, these little soul healers taught me many things about empathy. The way they love each other is one of the most beautiful things I've ever beheld.

I was blessed with 3 girls Tuula (Wind), Ritva (Birch branch) and Taika (the younger one that was not in this video). They are gone now but my fufunchis live still in my love for them and also in this video among others.

In the making of the video we had the company of some fellow ratty friends of my fufunchis Dastan, Evil dead, Valkiria, Demona y Takumi (I asked the rattery to bring me over the ones that had been discarded, some because they had red eyes and were black) Precious to me all of them.

About my fufunchis, when in my poetry sometimes I mention the sentence "the wind, the branch and the spell" I not only speak about magic or Nature but as tribute to them.

What is the message here?
You don't understand it? You find them disgusting? weird? awkward?

Learn to respect what is important to others and brings no harm to you.
We are all unique. RARE

And I loved my little furry companions no matter what they say

fufunchis.jpg

Above: Ritva and Tuula

They're not ready yet, they're still too blind

No matter what they say (Lyrics)

nomatterwhattheysay (1).jpg

Stalling without reason
Struggling in fears grip
Delusion builds up walls out from the dust
Don't fall into submission
Do not slave your own free will
Your strings might break if tension builds so fast
In my inner universe
time is flowing in reverse
just go back to decide
who you are, who you'll be
And no matter what they say
no matter what they say...
and no matter what they say
and no matter what they say...
They're not ready yet
they're still too blind
Just live each day no time is wasted time
And if your soul feels bitter
with more gloom it can bear
smothered by the strictness of the brain
oh... even in the harsh cold winter
just put a chance to blaze
and biting frost will fail to quench its flame
And you'll find your own voice
when you find the right words
and you'll find
and you'll find
that no matter what they say
that no matter what they say...
that no matter what they say
and no matter what they say...
no matter what they say
no matter what they say
no matter what they... say
no matter what they say

Credits

Priscilla Hernandez @yidneth: piano, pads, harp, flute, voice, lyrics and composition
Héctor Corcin@hedac: keyboards, second piano, drums, electronic arrangements, mixing and mastering
Armen Vartanyan: violin
© Priscilla Hernandez. All Rights reserved.

How to support my music

This song was not included in any of my CDs but was officially release as stand-alone single

You can buy this or other digital downloads from my shop at:
http://priscillahernandez.com/shop
as well as Itunes and other digital retailers

I sort of like to play this song acoustic on my piano, would you like to listen/watch a piano only version?
I have not recorded it but feel inclined to do so... drop your comments!

And to finish with some stills from the video

nomatterwhattheysay_yidneth_mosaic.jpg

Drop your thoughts... they matter to me!
Thank you!


Priscilla Hernandez
singer-songwriter & illustrator
http://yidneth.com

Sort:  

Nearly 30,000 views on youtube for this video.. I love to see that. You are so modest and humble, but people who only know you from Steemit and never have investigated your work elsewhere or even just typed in "Yidneth" into google have absolutely no idea how adored you are by the rest of the world. I wish the WHOLE world knew your name. I'm just so blessed that I know it myself.

This is one of my favorite songs and I adore your babies in the video, and it is sad to me that all too often people cannot appreciate the beauty in a rat. You are making a difference for rats in the world, and changing one heart at a time. SO proud to know you. ♥ Much love always! ♥

Aww you are the sweet. Proud of you too and how you are. You kind heart glows as much as your talent Serena.
My babies were the cutest ratties you've ever seen... I chose to see it that way
Love has no size or shape, it is something you feel.

Novi Dizajn (Master).png

ITALLINE.png

Thank YOu iTalent.png

ITALLINE 180.png

I used to own two rats, Mike Patton and Lenny Kravitz, and they were my best buddies , I used to take them everywhere!
Shout out to Ritva and Tuula :) it's a very cool track !

Aww sorry for not replying before, I've been quiet on Steemit this week :) Ratties are the cutest aren't they?
I'm a genetic engineer gone activist... never hurt or will hurt an animal.. but I'm happy my "fufunchis" had a different kind of life... I had three of them Tuula (from Tuulikki "goddess of the wind") Ritva (birch branch) and Taika (magic spell) now in my poetry I say often "the wind the branch and the spell" sounds poetic and it makes me think it's a little tribute... I'm struggling because I want to have again... but will do when circumstances allow.

You don't have to apologize, when do we have the pleasure to hear a new song ?
"genetic engineer" you mean by formation? this is fascinating, and intriguing as well !

Yes, 8 years of animal and molecular biology here... XD I'm not an artist by formation but an ex-scientist!

I guess you do create life with music nowadays hahaha

You have such an ethereal quality in your voice as if I am hearing an elf sing.

I love the high production value and video and I agree the rats were cute.

To be honest when I first joined the discord and saw your name and the rats. I thought okay.... but then getting to know you and how quirky and a wonderful person you are then it is something that makes you unique and special.

Learn to respect what is important to others and brings no harm to you.
We are all unique. RARE

I love this line and will be putting in my file of quotes, properly attributed.

Thank you for the encouraging words and compliment in my music. Yes they are cute right? Yes, I can guess at the beginning some people may find odd, but I am seriously consistent with myself and there is more to it and a background story.
I guess all our excentricities are born from something. In my case I made my animal companions my family and home. Home is not a roof but a soul shelter. I am grateful.

So amazingly cute. And hedac really knows his stuff. Hopefully ill be able to make something like this in the future. The production quality is out of this world.
Its really the whole package. Your singing, your acting, the production, the animals.
Amazing!

Inam sure you can do, videoclips like this one are just humble resources and fun. I am now doing simpler videos (sharing one for a fellow steemuan soon), still this one was sweet and funny and full of ratty love

Loved this @yidneth... How can one not simply fall in love with those beautiful creatures... It pleases me to no end in learning that you are a lover of animals and a beautiful creature in your own right. .x

Thank you so much... I have been blessed with the most sweet animal companions (I will not say pets) In favt I released my first official cd to dedicate it in memory of my dog Kira. They have been "home". Home is not a roof but a sheltee, comfort of the spirit. And I am grateful to my healers. I have always been the girl with fairy fantasy tales in her head and yes I love animals, because I love to observe their signs of empathy an intelligence we fail to understand.
I am glad they were there and well just a little statement why I plague everyone with rat memes. Quick to judge we can question why... We all hav our unique background stories, that is the beauty of it, no two are the same ❤️
🐀

Beautiful music <3 And wow, your voice is like crystal in sunlight; it has an amazing fantasy element to it and in contrast, there are parts of the song that bring an almost techno/post-apocalyptic vibe and it's a really cool combination when they come together!

And thank you for the dedication to the misfits. <3 We need you, dear queen.

It was fun to walk the city dressed like a fairy for this one, oh my god so man hilarious bloopers, next 25th is geek pride day so I may share that video then. The song is already a bit outdated, I almost prefer to play it entirely acoustic now. I like electronica but generally I don't use it that much. Here is an old post of a video / song that maybe represents me better, no need to upvote as it's an old post, but I'd love your opinion :)
And yay congrats on your top selection on open mic weeeee told ya you were going to make it to the top with that one... really good!
thanks for the lovely compliment, we're in touch!

https://steemit.com/music/@yidneth/music-video-and-making-of-in-the-mist-with-my-animated-illustrations-original-music-behind-the-scenes-from-art-to-video

I really enjoyed the song and the video,Priscilla, I don't even know what I liked more, for I looooooove rats!!!!!! I've had them three times, my last two girls Phoebe and Yoda were somehow the most special to me, We'd been through a lot together, they made a dark period of my life brighter.

Rats are special pets, they steal your heart and disappear so soon, but when they're gone, you know that for these short two or three years (if you're lucky) you've learnt more about love than ever!

This is me and my girls)

1526759442.jpg

1526759454.jpg

Awww such beautiful babies, husky ratties!
They are a blessing their only bad thing is that they live so short :( such short lives with such big spirits. Thank you for the pics, it made me smile.

Yeah, they were husky sisters, your song made the memories about my girls alive ) I watched a bunch of their pics and videos, so much fluffy fun they were... Thank you once again for the song and the video!

Aww it makes me happy it gave you sweet memories :)
I'm so tempted to get a ratty family again, my soul claims for it, but circumstances force to wait

Well, I already loved the song... I heard it more than a month ago when you shared it with me, but understanding in depth the emotions, the thoughts that where going through your mind the day you wrote it, makes it all that much special.

As always my dear Pris... I'm always falling in love with your art, since day one...

much love

I am thinking about doing a live acoustic version of this one, what do you think?
this won't be the last time a ratty post comes to steemit, but I thought it was time to start sharing them
especially because we have to face sometimes and stand in defiance when people question why we are different...
because we are who we are...
so for many reasons and many thoughts this song had to be shared, today!

Oh behalf of fufunchis.... thank you

TUULA (WIND)
RITVA (BIRCH BRANCH)
TAIKA (SPELL)

so whenever in my lyrics you read "the wind the branch and the spell" it's not only poetry.

Yes, you should... please do it

surprised me again... We are all unique, and what a great way to say it! This is just beautiful... Thanks @yidneth!

Thank you 🐀. I look back in time and there was some early struggle trying to fit in when young, but I only was happy when I accepted I did not want to be anyone but me. I have found also showing just as you are, cards on the table, will also bring on the contrary the people who will fit with you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94