You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dtube Exclusive - BuzzSteem Ep. 35 [Easing the Elderly into Crypto]

in #dtube6 years ago

I hear what you're saying about the elderly. I guess it's up to us just to encourage them and help them. And to explain to them why the technology is important. Also, we need to put ourselves in their shoes and think about what they value and find those things in the blockchain to introduce them to it.

Sort:  

Yeah I suppose with people my parent's age that's possible, but people who support taking away SS from the elderly and replacing it with crypto aren't considering the huge part of the population that don't even use cell phones much less computers and blockchain. I mean, I'm a spritely 30 year old that grew up with technology, and I have a hard time keeping up with it, an 80 year old struggling with dementia is certainly not going to be "earning their keep" by posting on Steemit, nor should they really. All of those people paid into American Social Security, and I feel like they should be able to get out what they paid in. I think this new idea is only going to be applicable to the generation after this one.

I agree. I don't think anyone should have their social security taken away. Especially to be replaced with social media. When you're old you might not want to be involved in social media. You might want to sit in a rocking chair with your grandchildren on your lap wear your great-grandchildren. Actually, more likely than not, you would want nothing to do with social media. I look at it more as a way to help the elderly supplement their social security. Replacing it is an unpractical idea. 😎

@bethwheatcraft, hahahaha, you made me laugh so hard i knocked my cereal off the table, tried to explain the crypto to my mum and all she could do was to laugh and ask me how many government has adopted it, i gave an answer and she gave me that "if i slap you look."

I have given up for now, i would try later.

Thanks for sharing this @bethwheatcraft

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90