DTUBE - Time Investment For Success - The Buckets Concept Explained - A Balanced Life Is IMPOSSIBLE

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Hey Steemit and Dtube,
With Monday Mayhem upon us, the explanation of the Buckets Concept is essential as we all plan to invest more time into our channels and the blockchain as a whole.

In this video, I quickly cover the Buckets Concept when it comes to time management, and make sure you understand the dangers of trying to deliver a "balanced" lifestyle.

Time and time again I have seen people continually strive for that balanced life, which in itself is impossible, it's just life. Demands on your time will vary with degree and demand and urgency, but in the end we need to decide what we do about it.

I hope this helps as you start your journey towards Full Time Dtube or anything else that you want to achieve with your time.

Thanks for watching.

The Adventurous Soul
Always Original Content on DTUBE.

Steemit: https://steemit.com/@adventuroussoul

Previous Videos:

Dtube Challenge 1000 Push Ups in 80 Minutes
https://steemit.com/dtube/@adventuroussoul/hyksrp8e

Steemit Success Forged In Failure.
https://steemit.com/dtube/@adventuroussoul/8j4srwz1

Dtube Thanks For Bringing Us Together
https://steemit.com/dtube/@adventuroussoul/exqeh2xp


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Golly gosh, there's something in the DTube water today. I talked about this very topic on my own video for today, but rather less succinctly than you did. I'm at that critical stage now where I have to decide on whether to keep going and, if so, then how and why. The first three weeks are over and it's been a challenge and a steep learning curve, but as the spring turns to summer and my nights disappear into live shows, I have to figure out a routine.

I think the big decision for me is whether to keep going at all. I quit photography a couple of years ago because it was taking time out of my guitar playing bucket. I was still playing, but only at live shows. I wasn't practising or learning new material. I enjoy photography a lot, so it was a tough call.

Now I'm back in that same place, only with earning potential. My photography never had that carrot, whereas my music does. And, so potentially does the blockchain. That changes it a little.

I enjoy making and editing video, far more than I expected to. I enjoy the community aspect of the Daily group and that has brought a lot of joy to my life in terms of personal connections, and it's early days.

Then I look at content like yours, how polished it is, how many followers you have, how many upvotes you get, and I begin to feel a little more disenchanted. I know, I know, persistence and patience are the factors here, and I have both of those things. I didn't come here initially for that and I'm generally not one to judge myself against others, but I am human and sometimes I can't help but feel a little like a fraud.

One thing I don't want to do is make each day's video about making videos and how to fit that in. I said today that many of the popular posts seem to be about making content, or failure or success or seven hacks for this or ... you get the picture.

And yet, when I watch content like yours, almost everything you say resonates with me, sometimes as if you're talking directly to me, and I LOVE that about this platform. I feel a large amount of satisfaction from creating my videos and getting through the challenge, so I hope I decide to continue and that my skills can improve as I go. As I said in today's video, it's beginning to feel like routine now, and I think I can manage something each day.

Thank you for your inspiration and your message. It made a whole lot of sense! Sorry if I was a bit rambly there.

Thanks for your honesty @camuel and please don’t apologise, anything a fellow Daily writes will never be ramble.
Firstly, please don’t compare yourself to me when making any decision, or at least don’t do it without knowing the whole story. I’m more like you than you may think.
The hard part about Dtube is finding something you love and people want to watch. The sweet spot for creation and earning income.
Some people of course don’t care about the income, and will create something just for them with the process being their reward.
I’m just lucky that people have connected with my content so far.
That doesn’t make me special or somehow more talented, it just makes me lucky.
Nothing more nothing less.
I struggle wth everything you have stated, should I continue, how do I continue, what if what if and so on.
I’ve enjoyed and continue to enjoy your videos and how they are evolving.
I have zero musical talent, literally, so I have always marveled at people that can create something out of thin air.
Keep doing what you love, create a KPI and just keep doing it.
That’s all I’ve ever done.
Mate I’ll DM you later and we can talk more.

Thanks @adventuroussoul. Appreciate the feedback. I had to Google KPI lol ! I'm looking forward to talking some more. I think we're about the same age, so dinosaur to dinosaur we should be able to figure it out!

Agree with your buckets analogy but would also add/question:

  1. Having clear goals as to what you are trying to achieve as this will help you focus on where to apply your limited time to your buckets (maybe this is assumed in your post)
  2. Thinking about how you can leverage your time to whichever buckets by improving your workflows, systems etc and adding automation or outsourcing to get more out of less

Totally agree. The Buckets were designed to show you where you spend your time, your goals help you determine where it should be spent. Between the two you can plan for success :) thanks for the comment

I really dig the way you express your perspective.
My view on the buckets is, if they're all balanced, evenly, then your average, at everything. My motto is, be good at something.
Peace.

Good one mate :)

Love it! Great concept! So refreshing to hear , no my life is not balanced and never will be! I don't think people realize what a huge statement that is! Great for putting it out there!!

Thanks @scheino I’m glad you liked it and of course thanks for watching :)

A lot of people in the steemit/dtube world, let alone the crypto world are looking to 'get rich quick' with minimal effort. A lot of them are not in this for the long term, rather are just taking advantage of the volatility of the market trying to earn a pretty penny. Thanks for introducing to me the 'buckets' concept, really interesting indeed!

My pleasure mate, thanks for watching as always :)

As always. SOLID video. Love how you used the visuals with the cups!!!

Thanks bud, glad you liked it. Now I can find your 2nd channel :)

What an interesting concept. I love how you accept failure as part of the process. Have a good night, mate!

Thanks bud, and Ditto 👍

Its a good content in the blog to achieve goals and have success in life. good idea in the post. thanks for sharing a valuable post.

I love the way you explained that metaphor. I use the spinning plate analogy. Maybe that's why I'm so tired. Need to change my metaphor. lol

Ah yes, the Rushing To The Urgent metaphor, it’s a good one mate and quite apt here on Dtube. And yeah, it can be exhausting lol.

I really dig the way you express your perspective.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89