The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier - Changing of the Guards Athens

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)



The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, is an important monument for the Hellenic people. It represents all the people, known or unknown, that gave their life for the freedom of the nation.
The monument portraits an armed fallen Greek warrior, with a circular shield and wearing an ancient helmet.
It is situated in Syntagma Square, in front of the Hellenic Parliament and the Presidential Mansion; heavenly guarded by the Evzones, that belong to a special unit of the Hellenic Army.

After 60 minutes of perfectly standing still, they perform coordinated moves, to carry out the changing of the guards.

A more formal changing of the guards takes place every Sunday at 11:00 am when they are accompanied by military band.
The Tomb is guarded 24 hours a day so no change getting closer.

All photos and video are mine, taken with Panasonic Lumix GX80, 1232 lens, at Syntagma Square, Athens.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Fun to watch Anca, with then things bubbling on their shoes.

Do you like the GX80?

Yes, I do like the lumix camera. I haven't explored all of what it can do, I think. I like that it has an image stabilizer, a 4k option. It's a big change from my Sony Cybershot. It seemed like a value for money option, mirrorless. The only thing is I need another lens for wider angles.

Thanks, thought the G7 was a great one already, this one looks even better, will dig in a little deeper.

Well I found it on discount at 499 €, so it was a 100€ discount. It was a good deal for me. I choose this model after I watched a few reviews online on youtube. Compared to other models this seemed great.

That is a great price! Will watch some youtube videos about it.

Excellent, I love some historical stuff!

Just by saying it's guarded 24 hours a day almost makes it seem like a challenge... Break in!! ;0)

I do wish I would have seen them on Sunday where it's more official.
There were other army guards besides them, so no chance :)

The guards it the video are very very professionals i mean they really know what they do, i love this photo,so strong and cute place

have fun !

Thank you! I did :) I'm back home now

Beautiful photos. I'm sure being there was a very somber experience. So much history and an honor to the fallen.
It always intrigued me how those guards can stand in one place for so long, then move again with grace. And not pass out in the heat and just standing still. Though I've heard the ones at Buckingham palace do that too, and when they DO fall over from the heat or whatever, stay at attention. Is that even possible? Not for ME...that's for sure.
It does look like you got to see many fascinating sites on your trip. How long were you there, wandering and photo-ing? (Glad you like your Lumix too, a very nice camera, as we've discussed before.) Have a nice day.

I only stayed 4 days; It's easy to visit them as they are close. I didn't visit all the ancient sites, but maybe on another trip :)
I guess they are well training; it was a hot day and it's not easy with all that clothing.
I like the Lumix, yes; I only need more time to explore all the options.

Thus is really interesting and educative also because the site has alot of historic events attach to its existence @anca3drandom

This symbolizes the respect for those who serve their nation and country even though their names are not recorded in history.
Like @anca3drandom

Do you know, by chance, the name of this uniform? The Greek guards have some interesting uniforms, but so far I was not able to get an overview...

This is also an untypical one... not many countries have the pride to show their beautiful folk costumes in a military parade:

I found some information online about the white uniforms
https://whyathens.com/evzones-uniform-greek-soldier/
It's called Foustanella or Greek Kilt, made from 400 pleats,representing the years of Ottoman occupation .

Congratulations @anca3drandom! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19