Scooter Madness (riding a scooter for the first time in Phuket, Thailand)

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Scooter Madness

In today's video I rent a scooter and travel around Phuket, Thailand.

Renting a scooter in Thailand is by far the best way to get around. It's cheap and offers you endless freedom to explore. I try to encapsulate as best as possible the experience of dodging other scooters, motorcycles and cars, all while trying to learn how to drive on the other side of the road. I am from the U.S. and I am used to driving on the right side of the the road. Now it isn't to hard to figure it out, just a few pucker moments of terror and it's all good.

Like I said before scooters are fairly cheap to rent in Thailand. For around 200 Baht ($7) you can get a small engine scooter for 24 hrs. It is a far better alternative than getting ripped off by all the taxi and Tuk Tuk drivers. I have already been ripped off a few times for taxi rides. Not enjoyable paying American prices to go relatively short distances.

I couldn't help but giggle and laugh the entire time I was riding the scooter. I had just arrived in Thailand and somehow someone had let me take this little motorized death machine and play with it on a tropical island. It was quite the adventure!

Fuel in Thailand isn't the cheapest. Probably slightly less expensive than back home in the state. The best part is that gas stations are rare, so when you need to fill up you stop at little shops on the side of the road where they have filled empty liquor bottles with a mystery green liquid that I have accepted as gas.

If you have the chance to visit Thailand definitely spend a few days on a scooter and don't forget to wear a helmet!

Thank you for watching I would love to hear what you think about the video down below in the comments.

Until next time.

Love, Arqetype


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Wow!!! This brings me back! I love this.... riding scooters around Thailand was one of my favorite parts about the experience I had there.

Here in India where I am now.... it's not the same. There is no organization and so much congestion with traffic. Riding a scooter would be a big life risk ahahaha! However, if you get on the back of a scooter and ride with someone who is skilled at riding scooters in India.... WOW! That is an experience worth having. What a beautiful present moment gift!

I have a dream about buying a motorcycle and seeing the country. One day!

I LOVE scooter life 💙

Gotta love it!

And I also LOVE scooter life!!!! Yay for scooter life!

Great way of getting around for sure, but stay safe :)

I know! I have already met a few people with some unfortunate accidents. Cheers:)

you're so brave. Scooters are very common in Taiwan here but I still don't dare to try riding it yet

I totally understand as convenient as they are they are literally disaster machines. I feel like I have the experience to be safe but it's the other people on the road I worry about.

Thailand is one of the most beautiful places on earth and you have a lot of things to try once you are there. Scooter adventure it really is a great experience and it's even more interesting when it's first time, haha :)

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69450.75
ETH 3678.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81